HC Deb 21 June 1974 vol 875 cc878-9

Amendment made: No. 28, in page 4, line 28, leave out 'Revenue' and insert 'Lotteries'.—[Mr. Graham Page.]

Motion made, That the Bill be now read the Third time.

Dr. Summerskill

On a point of order, Mr. Speaker. Since Government Amendment No. 4 regarding scale has not been accepted, I am not sure what the procedure should be at this moment. I gather that I may not make a speech on Third Reading, but I wish to make clear that, as the amendment on scale—which the Government regard as fundamental—has not been accepted, we cannot support the Third Reading.

Question, That the Bill be now read the Third time, put forthwith pursuant to Standing Order No. 56 (Third Reading):—

The House divided: Ayes 55, Noes 46.

Division No. 50.] AYES [12.22 p.m.
Allason James (Hemel Hempstead) Cope, John Grylls, Michael
Atkins, Rt.Hn. Humphrey (Spelthorne) Durant, Tony Gurden, Harold
Baker, Kenneth English, Michael Hannam, John
Balniel, Rt. Hn. Lord Eyre, Reginald Havers, Sir Michael
Buck, Antony Fraser.Rt.Hn.Hugh (St'fford&Stone) Hawkins, Paul
Chalker, Mrs. Lynda Gilmour, Rt.Hon.Ian(Ch'sh'&Amsh'm) Heseltine, Michael
Channon, Paul Gorst, John Hunt, John
Jenkin, Rt.Hn.P. (R'dgeW'sid&W'fd) Newton, Tony (Braintree) Spicer, Michael (Worcestershire, S.)
Johnson Smith, G. (E. Grinstead) Parkinson, Cecil (Hertfordshire, S.) Temple-Morris, Peter
Jones, Arthur (Daventry) Percival, Ian Thomas, Rt. Hn. P. (B'net, H'dn, S.)
Kilfedder, James A. Prior, Rt. Hn. James Townsend, C. D.
Kirk, Peter Pym, Rt. Hn. Francis Wiggin, Jerry
Knight, Mrs. Jill Renton, Rt.Hn.SirDavid(H't'gd'ns're) Winterton, Nicholas
Lane, David Ridsdale, Julian Worsley, Sir Marcus
Lawrence, Ivan Rippon, Rt. Kn. Geoffrey Young, Sir George (Ealing, Acton)
Lawson, Nigel (Blaby) Rodgers, Sir John (Sevenoaks)
MacGregor, John Ross, Stephen (Isle of Wight) TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Mayhew, Patrick (RoyalT' bridgeWells) St. John-Stevas, Norman Mr. Graham Page and
Miller, Hal (B'grove & R'ditch) Shaw, Michael (Scarborough) Mr. Victor Goodhew.
Morgan-Giles. Rear-Adm. Sims, Roger
Atkins, Ronald Hamling, William Parker, John (Dagenham)
Bidwell, Sydney Harrison, Walter (Wakefield) Peart, Rt. Hn. Fred
Bishop, E. S. Hattersley, Roy Pendry, Tom
Booth, Albert Huckfield, Leslie Perry, Ernest G.
Brown, Ronald (H'kney.S.&Sh'ditch) Jeger, Mrs. Lena Rhys Williams, Sir Brandon
Callaghan, Rt.Hn. James (Cardiff.S.E.) Jenkins, Rt. Hn. Roy (B'ham, St'fd) Richardson, Miss Jo
Clemitson, Ivor Lee, John Sandelson, Neville
Cocks, Michael Lyon, Alexander W. (York) Shaw, Arnold (Redbridge, Ilford, S.)
Cook, Robert F. (Edinburgh, C.) Lyons, Edward (Bradford, W.) Spriggs, Leslie
Cunningham, G. (Isl'ngt'n & F'sb'ry) MacFarquhar, Roderick Summerskill, Hn. Dr. Shirley
Dunwoody, Mrs. Gwyneth Magee, Bryan Walker, Harold (Doncaster)
Edwards, Robert (W'hampton, S.E.) Marshall, Dr. Edmund (Goole) Whitehead, Phillip
Faulds, Andrew Mason, Rt. Hn. Roy
Flannery, Martin Hellish, Rt. Hn. Robert TELLERS FOR THE NOES:
Foot, Rt. Hn. Michael Mikardo, Ian Mr. Ted Graham and
Fraser, John (Lambeth, Norwood) Morris, Charles R. (Openshaw) Mr. Ian Wrigglesworth.
Freeson, Reginald Newens, Stanley (Harlow)

Question accordingly agreed to.

Bill read the Third time and passed.

Back to