HC Deb 10 December 1974 vol 883 cc441-2

19.—(1) Subsection (4), (5) and (6) of section 1 of this Act shall remain in force until the expiry of the period of five years beginning with the passing of this Act and shall then expire unless continued in force by an order under this section.

(2) The Secretary of State may by order provide— (a) that all or any of the provisions of these subsections which are for the time being in force (including any in force by virtue of an order under this section) shall continue

Question accordingly negatived.

in force for a period not exceeding one year from the coming into operation of the order; (b) that all or any of the said provisions which are for the time being in force shall cease to be in force, and (c) that all or any of the said provisions which are not for the time being in force shall come into force again and remain in force for a period not exceeding one year from the coming into operation of the order. (3) On the expiration of any provision of this Act, section 38(2) of the Interpretation Act 1889 (effect of repeals) shall apply as if that provision of this Act was then repealed by another Act. — [Mr. Gordon Wilson.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time: —

The Committee divided: Ayes 6, Noes 101.

Division No. 31.] AYES [1.45 a.m.
Bain, Mrs Margaret Reid, George TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Henderson, Douglas Stewart, Donald (Western Isles) Mr. Andrew Welsh and
MacCormick, lain Wilson, Gordon (Dundee E.) Mr. George Thompson.
Archer, Peter Gilbert, Dr John Parry, Robert
Armstrong, Ernest Golding, John Pendry, Tom
Atkinson, Norman Gourlay, Harry Prescott, John
Bates, Alf Grant, John (Islington C.) Richardson, Miss Jo
Bean, Robert E. Hamilton, James (Bothwell) Roberts, Gwilym (Cannock)
Bidwell, Sydney Hamling, William Rodgers, George (Chorley)
Blenkinsop, Arthur Hardy, Peter Rooker, J. W.
Brown, Hugh D. (Glasgow Pr.) Harper, Joseph Ross, Rt Hon W. (Kilm'nock)
Buchan, Norman Harrison, Walter (Wakefield) Rowlands, Ted
Buchanan, Richard Horam, John Sedgemore, B.
Campbell, Ian Hughes, Robert (Aberdeen N.) Short, Rt Hon Edward (Newcastle C)
Clemitson, I. M. Jay, Rt Hon Douglas Sillars, James
Cocks, Michael (Bristol S.) John, Brynmor Skinner, Dennis
Coleman, Donald Jones, Alec (Rhondda) Small, William
Cook, Robin F. (Edin C) Jones, Dan (Burnley) Smith, John (N. Lanarkshire)
Cox, Thomas (Wands, Toot) Kaufman, Gerald Snape, Peter
Craigen, J. M. (Glasgow M.) Kelley, Richard Spearing, Nigel
Cryer, Bob Kinnock, Neil Stallard, A. W.
Dalyeil, Tam Loyden, Eddie Stoddart, David
Davidson, Arthur Lyons, Edward (Bradford W) Strang, Gavin
Deakins, Eric Mabon, Dr J. Dickson Thomas, Jeffrey (Abertillery)
Doig, Peter McCartney, Hugh Thorne, Stan (Preston)
Dormand, Jack McElhone, Frank Urwin, T. W.
Douglas-Mann, Bruce Mackintosh, John P. Wainwright, Edwin (Dearne V.)
Dunn, James A. Madden, Max White, James (Glasgow, P)
Edge, Geoffrey Magee, Bryan Wilson, Alexander (Hamilton)
Ellis, Tom (Wrexham) Mahon, Simon Wilson, William (Coventry S.E.)
English, Michael Mellish, Rt Hon Robert Wise, Mrs Audrey
Ewing, Harry (Stirling) Mendelson, John Woodall, Alec
Fernyhough, Rt Hon E. Millan, Bruce Woof, Robert
Fletcher, Raymond (Ilkeston) Morris, Charles R. (Openshaw) Wrigglesworth, Ian
Ford, Ben T. Murray, Ronald King Young, David (Bolton E.)
Forrester, John O'Halloran, Michael TELLERS FOR THE NOES:
Fowler, Gerald (The Wrekin) Ovenden, John Miss Betty Boothroyd and
George, Bruce Park, George Mr. Laurie Pavitt.
Forward to