HC Deb 02 March 1971 vol 812 cc1654-5

Order for Second Reading read.

4.57 a.m.

The Solicitor-General (Sir Geoffrey Howe)

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

This is a Consolidation Bill given effect to two recommendations of the Law Commission, reproduced in Clauses 25(5) and 37(3). It was introduced in another place after a report by the Joint Committee on Consolidation Bills which was printed on 9th December last year. It reported that the Committee was of opinion that the recommendations of the Law Commission were for the purposes of producing a satisfactory consolidation of the law. The Committee approved the recommendations, making certain amendments to improve the form of the Bill and to bring it into conformity with the existing law.

4.58 a.m.

Mr. James Wellbeloved (Erith and Crayford)

It is regrettable that it is now five o'clock in the morning and we are about to enter upon a debate on a very important Consolidation Measure. I will not attempt to make a long speech or, indeed, one of any content at all, other than to indicate that I hope that the Government will take into account the length of time the House has been sitting and of the great distress, discomfort and inconvenience that has been caused to the staff by virtue of the volume of business tabled at this sitting. I hope, therefore, that the Government will be satisfied to get the Second Reading and not proceed to the Committee stage now. It would be unfortunate if

Division No. 224.] AYES [5.0 a.m.
Alison, Michael (Barkston Ash) Gummer, Selwyn Pink, R. Bonner
Allason, James (Hemel Hempstead) Haselhurst, Alan Pym, Rt. Hn. Francis
Atkins, Humphrey Havers, Michael Redmond, Robert
Baker, Kenneth (St. Marylebone) Hornby, Richard Reed, Laurance (Bolton, E.)
Boardman, Tom (Leicester, S.W.) Howe, Hn. Sir Geoffrey (Reigate) Rees, Peter (Dover)
Boscawen, Robert Howell, Ralph (Norfolk, N.) Ridley, Hn. Nicholas
Bray, Ronald Hunt, John Roberts, Michael (Cardiff, N.)
Brewis, John Hutchison, Michael Clark Roberts, Wyn (Conway)
Brocklebank-Fowler, Christopher James, David Rossi, Hugh (Hornsey)
Brown, Sir Edward (Bath) Jenkin, Patrick (Woodford) Scott-Hopkins, James
Bruce-Gardyne, J. Jennings, J. C. (Burton) Sharples, Richard
Buchanan-Smith, Alick(Angus,N&M) King, Tom (Bridgewater) Shaw, Michael (Sc'b'gh & Whitby)
Chapman, Sydney Kinsey, J. R. Shelton, William (Clapham)
Chataway, Rt. Hn. Christopher Kitson, Timothy Soref, Harold
Chichester-Clark, R. Knight, Mrs. Jill Speed, Keith
Clarke, Kenneth (Rushcliffe) Knox, David Spence, John
Clegg, Walter Longden, Gilbert Sproat, Iain
Cockeram, Eric MacArthur, Ian Stanbrook, Ivor
Cormack, Patrick Mather, Carol Stuttaford, Dr. Tom
Dalkeith, Earl of Maxwell-Hyslop, R. J. Sutcliffe, John
Dixon, Piers Meyer, Sir Anthony Taylor,Edward M.(G'gow,Cathcart)
du Cann, Rt. Hn. Edward Mitchell,Lt.-Col.C.(Aberdeenshire,W) Taylor, Frank (Moss Side)
Eden, Sir John Moate, Roger Tebbit, Norman
Eyre, Reginald Molyneaux, James Thomas, John Stradling (Monmouth)
Fenner, Mrs. Peggy Money, Ernle van Straubenzee, W. R.
Fidler, Michael Monks, Mrs. Connie Weatherill, Bernard
Finsberg, Geoffrey (Hampstead) Monro, Hector Whitelaw, Rt. Hn. William
Fortescue, Tim More, Jasper Worsley, Marcus
Fowler, Norman Neave, Airey Younger, Hn. George
Gibson-Watt, David Normanton, Tom
Gilmour, Sir John (Fife, E.) Osborn, John TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Gower, Raymond Owen, Idris (Stockport, N.) Mr. Victor Goodhew and
Gray, Hamish Page, Graham (Crosby) Mr. Paul Hawkins.
Green, Alan Parkinson, Cecil (Enfield, W.)
Cocks, Michael (Bristol, S.) Oswald, Thomas TELLERS FOR THE NOES:
English, Michael Skinner, Dennis Mr. James Wellbeloved and
Lawson, George Swain, Thomas Mr. Eric Deakins.
Orme, Stanley

Bill immediately considered in Committee.

[Sir ROBERT GRANT-FERRIS in the Chair]

Forward to