HC Deb 04 August 1971 vol 822 cc1552-4
4. Mr. Douglas

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland if he will list the local authorities which have now made written submissions to him with regard to the boundary changes envisaged in the recent White Paper on the Reform of Local Government in Scotland, Command Paper No. 4583.

Mr. Gordon Campbell

With permission, I will circulate a list in the OFFICIAL REPORT.

Mr. Douglas

Will the right hon. Gentleman admit that it will be an extensive list? As this matter is of vital importance, in view of forthcoming legislation, will he provide access to the documents by placing them either in the Library of the House or in Dover House?

Mr. Campbell

The authorities have been invited to put forward their views. Many of them are concerned with local problems of minor adjustments. I do not think that much would be gained by circulating their views. I should certainly need to ask their permission before they were published. The work is continuing and the information that has been sent in has been most helpful to the Government in reaching conclusions on these problems.

Dr. Dickson Mabon

I thank the right hon. Gentleman for agreeing to publish this information. Does he realise that it has taken five Questions and a dozen letters to get this out of him?

Mr. Campbell

What I have said is that I shall publish the list of authorities which have sent in their representations. I have not said that I shall publish all the representations.

Following is the information:

County Councils
Aberdeen Berwick
Angus Clackmannan
Argyll Dumfries
Banff Dunbarton
County Councils
East Lothian Perth
Fife Renfrew
Inverness Ross & Cromarty
Kincardine Roxburgh
Kirkcudbright Selkirk
Midlothian Stirling
Moray Sutherland
Moray & Nairn West Lothian
Nairn Wigtown
Peebles Zetland
Town Councils
Aberdeen Kilrenny, Anstruther Easter and Anstruther Wester
Alloa Kilsyth
Arbroath Kilminning
Ardrossan Kingussie
Armadale Kinross
Ayr Kirkcaldy
Bearsden Kirkintilloch
Biggar Kirriemuir
Bishopbriggs Ladybank
Bonnyrigg & Lasswade Lanark
Burntisland Leven
Campbeltown Linlithgow
Clydebank Loanhead
Coatbridge Lochgelly
Coldstream Lochgilphead
Cove and Kilcreggan Lochmaben
Cowdenbeath Markinch
Cumbernauld Maybole
Cumnock and Holmhead Milngavie
Cupar Monifieth
Dalkeith Motherwell and Wishaw
Dumbarton Musselburgh
Dundee Nairn
Dunfermline Newburgh
Dunoon New Galloway
Duns Newport-on-Tay
East Kilbride North Berwick
Edinburgh Paisley
Elie and Earlsferry Penicuik
Ellon Perth
Eyemouth Peterhead
Falkirk Pitlochry
Falkland Pittenweem
Forfar Port Glasgow
Fortrose Portsoy
Galashiels Prestwick
Girvan Queensferry
Gourock Rothesay
Grangemouth St. Andrews
Grantown-on-Spey St. Monance
Greenock Saltcoats
Haddington Sanquhar
Hamilton Selkirk
Hawick Stevenston
Helensburgh Stirling
Inverkeithing Stornoway
Inverness Stranraer
Inverurie Tain
Irvine Tayport
Jedburgh Troon
Johnstone Whitburn
Kelso Wick
Kilmarnock Wigtown
District Councils
Aberdeen Skye
Deeside Lower Deeside
Huntly First District Lanark
Turriff Second District Lanark
Ardnamurchan Third District Lanark
Cowal Fourth District Lanark
Lorn, North Sixth District Lanark
Lorn, South Seventh District Lanark
Mid Argyll
Ayr No. 1 Ninth District Lanark
Cumnock Currie
Dalmellington Broughton
Maybole Linton
West Kilbride Perth
Buckie First District Renfrew
Cullen Avoch
East District Berwick Fearn
West District Berwick Fortrose
Arran Invergordon
Alloa South West Ross and Cromarty
Old Kilpatrick
Vale of Leven Tain
North Berwick Jedburgh
Cupar Kelso
Dunfermline Central No. 1 Stirling
Glenrothes Central No. 2 Stirling
Lochgelly Western No. 1 Stirling
St. Andrews Western No. 3 Stirling
Wemyss Tongue & Farr
Badenoch Kirkliston & Winchburgh
Lochaber Linlithgow