HC Deb 28 February 1968 vol 759 cc1542-3

Motion made, and Question put,

That the Proceedings on the Commonwealth Immigrants Bill and the Education Bill may be entered upon and proceeded with at this day's Sitting at any hour, though opposed.—[Mr. Callaghan.]

The House Divided: Ayes 218, Noes 26.

Mikardo, Ian Price, Thomas (Westhoughton) Tomney, Frank
Mitchell, R. C. (S'th'pton, Test) Price, William (Rugby) Turton, Rt. Hn. R. H.
Montgomery, Fergus Probert, Arthur Urwin, T. W.
Moonman, Eric Randall, Harry Wainwright, Edwin (Dearne Valley)
Morgan, Elystan (Cardiganshire) Rees, Merlyn Walker, Harold (Doncaster)
Morris, Charles R. (Openshaw) Rhodes, Geoffrey Wallace, George
Morris, John (Aberavon) Richard, Ivor Watkins, David (Consett)
Moyle, Roland Roberts, Goronwy (Caernarvon) Watkins, Tudor (Brecon & Radnor)
Munro-Lucas-Tooth, Sir Hugh Rodgers, William (Stockton) Wells, William (Walsall, N.)
Murray, Albert Ross, Rt. Hn. William White, Mrs. Eirene
Neal, Harold Russell, Sir Ronald Whitlock, William
Oakes, Gordon Ryan, John Wilkins, W. A.
Ogden, Eric Sandys, Rt. Hn. D. Willey, Rt. Hn. Frederick
O'Malley, Brian Short, Rt. Hn. Edward (N'c'tle-u-Tyne) Williams, Alan (Swansea, W.)
Osborne, Sir Cyril (Louth) Short, Mrs. Renée(W'hampton,N.E.) Williams, Alan Lee (Hornchurch)
Oswald, Thomas Silkin, Rt. Hn, John (Deptford) Williams, Clifford (Abertillery)
Owen, Will (Morpeth) Silkin, Hn. S. C. (Dulwich) Willis, George (Edinburgh, E.)
Page, Derek (King's Lynn) Small, William Winnick, David
Paget, R. T. Snow, Julian Woodburn, Rt. Hn. A.
Palmer, Arthur Spriggs, Leslie Woof, Robert
Pannell, Rt. Hn. Charles Stewart, Rt. Hn. Michael Yates, Victor
Parker, John (Dagenham) Swingler, Stephen
Pavitt, Laurence Taverne, Dick TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Pearson, Arthur (Pontypridd) Taylor, Edward M. (G'gow,Cathcart) Mr. Eric G. Varley and
Pentland, Norman Thornton, Ernest Mr. loan L. Evans.
Perry, Ernest G. (Battersea, S.) Tinn, James
Bessell, Peter Gray, Dr. Hugh (Yarmouth) Nott, John
Booth, Albert Grimond, Rt. Hn. J. Orme, Stanley
Crawshaw, Richard Hawkins, Paul Thorpe, Rt. Hn. Jeremy
Davidson, James(Aberdeenshire, W.) Henig, Stanley Vickers, Dame Joan
Dickens, James Hooson, Emlyn Wainwright, Richard (Colne Valley)
Faulds, Andrew Jeger. Mrs. Lena(H'b'n&St.P'cras.S.) Whitaker, Ben
Fletcher, Raymond (Ilkeston) Johnston, Russell (Inverness)
Foot, Sir Dingle (Ipswich) Lee, John (Reading) TELLERS FOR THE NOES:
Foster, Sir John Lubbock, Eric Mr, David Steel and
Gilmour, Sir John (Fife, E.) Macdonald, A. H. Dr. M. P. Winstanley.