HC Deb 23 February 1967 vol 741 cc2097-8

Ordered, That the Proceedings on the Motion for an Instruction relating to the Greater London Council (General Powers) (No. 2) Bill set down for consideration at Seven o'clock this evening by direction of the Chairman of Ways and Means may be entered upon and pro-

The House divided: Ayes 120, Noes 27.

Division No. 279.] AYES [9.59 p.m.
Archer, Peter Harrison, Walter (Wakefield) Mitchell, R. C. (S'th'pton, Test)
Armstrong, Ernest Hart, Mrs. Judith Morris, Charles R. (Openshaw)
Atkins, Ronald (Preston, N.) Haseldine, Norman Neal, Harold
Barnett, Joel Hazel!, Bert Norwood, Christopher
Bence, Cyril Heffer, Eric S. Ogden, Eric
Bennett, James (G'gow, Bridgeton) Herbison, Rt. Hn. Margaret Oram, Albert E.
Bidwell, Sydney Hooley, Frank Pavitt, Laurence
Bishop, E. S. Horner, John Peart, Rt. Hn. Fred
Blackburn, F. Howie, W. Pentland, Norman
Blenkinsop, Arthur Hunter, Adam Perry, Ernest G. (Battersea, S.)
Booth, Albert Hynd, John Perry, George H. (Nottingham, S.)
Boyden, James Jones, Dan (Burnley) Reynolds, G. W.
Bray, Dr. Jeremy Judd, Frank Roberts, Albert (Normanton)
Broughton, Dr. A. D. D. Kerr, Mrs. Anne (R'ter & Chatham) Robertson, John (Paisley)
Buchan, Norman Kerr, Dr. David (W'worth, Central) Robinson, W. O. J. (Walth'stow, E.)
Coleman, Donald Kerr, Russell (Feltham) Rodgers, William (Stockton)
Crossman, Rt. Hn. Richard Lawson, George Roebuck, Roy
Dalyell, Tam Leadbitter, Ted Ross, Rt. Hn. William
Davies, Harold (Leek) Lee, John (Reading) Ryan, John
Davies, Ifor (Gower) Lestor, Miss Joan Shaw, Arnold (Ilford, S.)
Dell, Edmund ever, Harold (Cheetham) Short, Rt. Hn.Edward(N'c'tle-u-Tyne)
Eadie, Alex Lever, L. M. (Ardwick) Silkin, Rt. Hn. John (Deptford)
Edelman, Maurice Lipton, Marcus Silkin, Hn. S. C. (Dulwich)
Ennals, David Loughlin, Charles Slater, Joseph
Evans, Ioan L. (Birm'h'm, Yardley) Lubbock, Eric Small, William
Faulds, Andrew Lyon, Alexander W. (York) Spriggs, Leslie
Fitch, Alan (Wigan) Lyons, Edward (Bradford, E.) Steel, David (Roxburgh)
Fletcher, Ted (Darlington) McBride, Neil Steele,Thomas(Dunbartonshire,W.)
Foot, Sir Dingle (Ipswich) MacColl, James Swain, Thomas
Ford, Ben MacDermot, Niall Swingler, Stephen
Fraser, Rt. Hn. Tom (Hamilton) Macdonald, A. H. Thomas, George (Cardiff, W.)
Freeson, Reginald Mackenzie,Alasdair(Ross&Crom'ty) Tinn, James
Garrett, W. E. Mackie, John Urwin, T. W.
Ginsburg, David Maclennan, Robert Wainwright, Edwin (Dearne Valley)
Gourlay, Harry McMillan, Tom (Glasgow, C.) Walden, Brian (All Saints)
Grey, Charles (Durham) Mahon, Peter (Preston, S.) Whitaker, Ben
Griffiths, David (Rother Valley) Manuel, Archie Whitlock, William
Griffiths, Will (Exchange) Mellish, Robert Willis, George (Edinburgh, E.)
Hamilton, James (Bothwell) Millan, Bruce
Hamling, William Miller, Dr. M. S. TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Harper, Joseph Milne, Edward (Blyth) Mr. William Molloy and
Mr. Jack Dunnett.
Alison, Michael (Barkston Ash) Glover, Sir Douglas Roots, William
Berry, Hn. Anthony Grant, Anthony Russell, Sir Ronald
Biffen, John Gresham Cooke, R. Shaw, Michael (Sc'b'gh & Whitby)
Body, Richard Hawkins, Paul Stoddart-Scott, Col. Sir M. (Ripon)
Bullus, Sir Eric Higgins, Terence L. Taylor, Frank (Moss Side)
Carlisle, Mark Iremonger, T. L. Teeting, Sir William
Corfield, F. V. Kershaw, Anthony Younger, Hn. George
Doughty, Charles MacArthur, Ian
Elliott, R.W.(N'c'tle-upon-Tyne,N.) Monro, Hector TELLERS FOR THE NOES:
Giles, Rear-Adm. Morgan Rees-Davies, W. R. Mr. John Biggs-Davison and
Mr. Patrick Jenkin.

ceeded with at this day's Sitting at any hour, though opposed.—[Mr. Harper.]

Mr. Speaker

Does either hon. Member wish to move the Instruction?

Mr. Parkerindicated dissent.

Forward to