HC Deb 28 February 1966 vol 725 c883
15. Mr. Shepherd

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs which countries have yet to ratify The Hague Convention of 1961 abolishing the requirement of legalisation of foreign public documents; and what is the policy of Her Majesty's Government in the absence of comprehensive ratification.

Mr. Padley

Of the fourteen countries which have signed the Convention, Austria, Finland, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Switzerland, Turkey and Liechtenstein have yet to ratify it. The Government would welcome the wider application of the Convention. They recognise, however, that for various reasons some countries may be unwilling to accept its obligations and that others are not able to do so until their internal law or regulations have been amended.

Forward to