HC Deb 02 March 1960 vol 618 c1220
51. Mr. Swingler

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs what bases in the Falkland Islands Dependencies are still in the occupation of Argentina and Chile; and what negotations have taken place with these or other Governments concerning their claims.

Mr. Profumo

Argentina at present occupies nine and Chile four bases in the Falkland Islands Dependencies. Both Governments have also erected navigational beacons and refuge huts in the area. Her Majesty's Government made formal protests when each installation was set up.

The Antarctic Treaty signed in Washington on 1st December, 1959, on behalf of twelve nations, including the United Kingdom, Argentina and Chile, provides for the maintenance of the legal status quo as regards territory. The Treaty, when ratified, will ensure that United Kingdom sovereignty in the Antarctic is fully safeguarded.

Forward to