HC Deb 22 October 1959 vol 612 cc39-42
Mr. Speaker

Will Members desirous of taking and subscribing the Oath please come to the Table? Members who are sitting on the second Opposition bench above the Gangway will come first.

The following Members took and subscribed the Oath, or made and subscribed the Affirmation required by Law:

Charles Royle, esquire, Salford, West.

Commander Harry Pursey, Kingston-upon-Hull, East.

Walter James Edwards, esquire, Stepney.

Denis Winston Healey, esquire, M.B.E., Leeds, East.

Barbara Anne Castle, Blackburn.

Herbert William Butler, esquire, Hackney, Central.

John Thomson Stonehouse, esquire, Wednesbury.

Malcolm Kenneth MacMillan, esquire, Western Isles.

George Jeger, esquire, Goole.

Albert Evans, esquire, Islington, South-west.

Richard William Marsh, esquire, Greenwich.

Sir Gerard Spencer Summers, Aylesbury.

Florence Patricia Alice McLaughlin, Belfast, West.

Sir William Robson-Brown, Esher.

David Pelham James, esquire, Brighton, Kemp Town.

William Fergus Montgomery, esquire, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, East.

Paul Glyn Williams, esquire, Sunderland, South.

John Victor Woollam, esquire, Liverpool, West Derby.

Colonel Sir Malcolm Stoddart-Scott, O.B.E., T.D., Ripon.

Joan Helen Vickers, M.B.E., Plymouth, Devonport.

John Anthony Leavey, esquire, Heywood and Royton.

William Marcus John Worsley, esquire, Keighley.

Harold Edward Gurden, esquire, Birmingham, Selly Oak.

Sir William Wavell Wakefield, St. Marylebone.

Desmond Louis Donnelly, esquire, Pembroke.

Archibald Fenner Brockway, esquire, Eton and Slough.

John Sinclair-Wemyss Arbuthnot, esquire, M.B.E., T.D., Dover.

Patrick Henry Bligh Wall, esquire, M.C., V.R.D., Haltemprice.

Sir William Smith Duthie, O.B.E., Banff.

Luke William Burke Teeling, esquire, Brighton, Pavilion.

Patrick Wolrige-Gordon, esquire, East Aberdeenshire.

Lady Ann Muriel Gammans, Hornsey.

John Alec Biggs-Davison, esquire, Chigwell.

Vice-Admiral John Hughes Hallett, C.B., D.S.O., Croydon, North-East.

Sir Henry Joseph d'Avigdor-Goldsmid, baronet, D.S.O., M.C., T.D., Walsall, South.

Frank Tomney, esquire, Hammersmith, North.

William Yates, esquire, The Wrekin.

Philip Norman Hocking, esquire, Coventry, South.

John Holbrook Osborn, esquire, Sheffield, Hallam.

Alan Cripps Nind Hopkins, esquire, Bristol, North-East.

Sir Peter Geoffrey Roberts, baronet, Sheffield, Heeley.

Henry Percivall Pott, esquire, Devizes.

William Gibson Clark, esquire, Nottingham, South.

Christopher John Chataway, esquire, Lewisham, North.

Alfred Roy Wise, esquire, M.B.E., T.D., Rugby.

Sir Alexander Cadwalladar Mainwaring Spearman, Scarborough and Whitby.

Sir Hugh Nicholas Linstead, O.B.E., Wandsworth, Putney.

Sir Charles Edward Mott-Radclyffe, Windsor.

Gilbert James Morley Longden, esquire, M.B.E., South-West Hertfordshire.

Humphrey Edward Atkins, esquire, Merton and Morden.

John Enoch Powell, esquire, M.B.E., Wolverhampton, South-West.

James Hutchinson Hoy, esquire, Edinburgh, Leith.

11.25 a.m.

Mr. Speaker

I suspend the Sitting until twenty minutes to twelve.

The following Members took and subscribed the Oath, or made and subscribed the Affirmation required by Law:

Right honourable Aubrey Jones, Birmingham, Hall Green.

Frederick Petre Crowder, esquire, Ruislip and Northwood.

Jocelyn Edward Salis Simon, esquire, Q.C., Middlesbrough, West.

Arthur Moyle, esquire, C.B.E., Oldbury and Halesowen.

Richard Howard Stafford Crossman, esquire, O.B.E., Coventry, East.

Ronald Joseph Ledger, esquire, Romford.

Eric George Molyneux Fletcher, esquire, Islington, East.

Laurence Anstice Pavitt, esquire, Willesden, West.

Sir James Henderson-Stewart, baronet, East Fife.

Cyril Raymond Bence, esquire, East Dunbartonshire.

Peter John Mitchell Thomas, esquire, Conway.

Captain Mark Hewitson, Kingston-upon-Hull, West.

Leonard Robert Carr, esquire, Mitcham.

Ernest Fernyhough, esquire, Jarrow.

11.45 a.m.

Mr. Speaker

I suspend the Sitting until 12.45 p.m.

The following Members took and subscribed the Oath, or made and subscribed the Affirmation required by Law:

Edwin Hartley Cameron Leather, esquire, North Somerset.

Peter Henry Berry Otway Smithers, esquire, Winchester.

Sir Hubert Ashton, K.B.E., M.C., Chelmsford.

Frank Patrick Bishop, esquire, M.B.E., Harrow, Central.

Sir Norman John Hulbert, Stockport, North.

William Stratton Mills, esquire, Belfast, North.

Philip Carter Goodhart, esquire, Beckenham.

Leslie Charles Curran, esquire, Uxbridge.

John Paton, esquire, Norwich, North.

Percy Holman, esquire, Bethnal Green.

Alan Grahame Brown, esquire, Tottenham.

Robert Joseph Mellish, esquire, Bermondsey.

Francis Edward Noel-Baker, esquire, Swindon.

Roy Harris Jenkins, esquire, Birmingham, Stechford.

Julian Ward Snow, esquire, Lichfield and Tamworth.

Leslie Maurice Lever, esquire, Manchester, Ardwick.

Barnett Janner, esquire, Leicester, North-West.

William Francis Martin Maddan, esquire, Hitchin.

John MacLeod, esquire, Ross and Cromarty.

Sir David Robertson, Caithness and Sutherland.

Frederick William Mulley, esquire, Sheffield, Park.

12.55 p.m.

Mr. Speaker

I suspend the Sitting until 2.15 p.m.

The following Members took and subscribed the Oath, or made and subscribed the Affirmation required by Law:

Norman Harold Lever, esquire, Manchester, Cheetham.

Joyce Shore Butler, Wood Green.

Sydney Irving, esquire, Dartford.

Ellis Smith, esquire, Stoke-on-Trent, South.

Iorwerth Rhys Thomas, esquire, Rhondda, West.

John Galway Foster, esquire, Q.C., Northwich.

Brigadier Sir Otho Leslie Prior-Palmer, D.S.O., Worthing.

John Hall, esquire, T.D., Wycombe.

Norman John Cole, esquire, South Bedfordshire.

John Arnold Farr, esquire, Harborough.

Back to
Forward to