HC Deb 20 March 1958 vol 584 c1410
18. Mrs. White

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies who were the members appointed by the representative members on the Uganda Legislative Council to report on Income Tax in East Africa.

Mr. Profumo

I am circulating in the OFFICIAL REPORT the names of the nine members who were appointed by the Representative Members' Organisation to consider, together with representatives of other bodies, the Report of the Commission of Inquiry on Income Tax in East Africa.

Mrs. White

Is the hon. Gentleman aware that the recommendation by the members of the Uganda Legislative Council for substantial cuts in personal Income Tax on higher levels of incomes seems rather shocking, and sets a bad example in a country where there is still so much to be done in the way of development? Can the hon. Gentleman say what is the next step in the matter?

Mr. Profumo

The next step is that the Commission's Report is still under consideration by all the East African Governments.

The following are the names:

Mrs. B. Saben (Chairman), Major A. S. Din, Lieut.-Colonel W. H. L. Gordon, Mr. E. Kapa, Dr. B. N. Kununka, Mr. Y. B. Mungoma, Mr C. J. Obwangor, Mr. Y. Omonya, Mr. J. T. Simpson.

Back to