HC Deb 19 February 1958 vol 582 cc1187-8 Principal Delegates Sir Reginald Manningham-Buller, Bt., Q.C., M.P. Her Majesty's Attorney-General, Senior Law Officer of the Crown. or in his absence Sir Harry Hylton-Foster, Q.C., M.P. Her Majesty's Solicitor-General, Law Officer of the Crown. Delegates Sir Gerald Fitzmaurice, K.C.M.G., Q.C., Her Majesty's Foreign Service, Chief Legal Adviser to the Foreign Office (will lead the Delegation in the absence of either of the Principal Delegates). Sir Alec Randall, K.C.M.G., O.B.E., late of Her Majesty's Foreign Service, formerly Ambassador to Denmark. Mr. R. G. R. Wall—Fisheries Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food. Miss Joyce A. C. Gutteridge, Her Majesty's Foreign Service, Assistant Legal Adviser, Foreign Office.

Departmental Advisers

Foreign Office Sir William Sullivan, K.B.E., C.M.G., late of Her Majesty's Foreign Service and formerly Ambassador to Mexico. Mr. D. H. N. Johnson—Reader in International Law, London School of Economics. University of London, and formerly Legal Research Assistant in the Foreign Office. Admiralty Captain R. P. S. Grant, D.S.C., R.N. Mr. K. J. Pritchard, Principal, Department of the Secretary of the Admiralty Commander R. H. Kennedy, O.B.E., R.N. (Rtd.). Naval Assistant, Hydrographic Department. Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation. Mr. T. F. Bird, C.B.—Under-Secretary. Mr. B. G. Bellamy—Assistant Secretary. Mr. L. E. Dale—Principal. Mr. A. W. G. Kean—Assistant Solicitor (Treasury Solicitor's Department). Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food Mr. R. S. Wimpenny, O.B.E., M.Sc. Deputy Director of Fisheries Research (Senior Principal Scientific Officer). Mr. R. H. Stone—Assistant Principal. Scottish Home Department Dr. C. E. Lucas, C.M.G., D.Sc., F.R.S.E., Director of Marine Laboratory Fisheries Division Mr. T. F. S. Hetherington—Assistant Secretary, Fisheries Division. Mr. N. J. P. Hutchinson—Assistant Secretary. Colonial Office Mr. E. C. Burr—Principal. Commonwealth Relations Office Mr. B. J. Greenhill—Principal.

Non-Departmental Advisers

British Trawlers Federation Major-General Sir Farndale Philips, K.B.E.. C.B., D.S.O., President of the Federation. Mr. J. S. Cobley—Chairman. District Water Section. General Council of British Shipping Mr. R. Dawson-Miller, C.B.E. British Seafarers Unions Dr. D. S. Tennant. C.B.E. Delegation Secretary Mr. W. T. Wright, A.F.C.. Her Majesty's Foreign Service, Foreign Office.
18. Mr. Moss

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs which countries which are not members of the United Nations will be represented at the Conference on the Law of the Sea, opening at Geneva on 25th February under the auspices of the United Nations.

Mr. Ormsby-Gore

Five. These are the Federal Republic of Germany, the Vatican City, the Republic of Korea, Monaco and Switzerland.

Mr. Moss

Is it not desirable that countries which are not members of the United Nations but which will be concerned in any conclusions reached at this Conference should be invited to attend?

Mr. Ormsby-Gore

The invitations are being sent out by the United Nations, and these five nations have been included.