HC Deb 22 March 1956 vol 550 cc1475-6
The Prime Minister (Sir Anthony Eden)

With your permission, Mr. Speaker, and that of the House, I wish to make a statement about the Council of Europe.

The Consultative Assembly will meet at Strasbourg on 16th April, and I have appointed eighteen delegates from the Parliament of the United Kingdom. The distribution of the appointments between the parties is the same as in the previous delegation, that is, nine Members of the Conservative Party, eight Members of the Labour Party and a representative of the Liberal Party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.

The appointments of the Labour and Liberal representatives and substitutes have, of course, been made on the basis of nominations by the Leaders of those parties. I will circulate the names in the OFFICIAL REPORT.

The same delegation will represent the United Kingdom Parliament at the Western European Union Assembly, which is also expected to meet at Strasbourg on 23rd April.

Mr. Snow

Is the Prime Minister aware that a number of hon. Members think that some of these rather expensive dining clubs should be wound up?

Mr. Speaker

I do not think that that arises now.

Following are the names:

Representatives from the Government benches—

The right hon. Members for Moss Side (Dame Florence Horsbrugh) and Renfrew, West (Mr. Maclay).

The hon. Members for Preston, North (Mr. J. Amery), Belfast, South (Sir D. Campbell), Henley (Mr. Hay), Scotstoun (Sir J. Hutchison), Farnham (Mr. Nicholson), and Bebington (Mr. Oakshott), and Lord Chesham.

From the Labour Party—

The Leader of the Opposition, the right hon. Gentleman the Member for Leeds, South (Mr. Gaitskell), the right hon. Member for Brighouse and Spenborough (Mr. J. Edwards).

The hon. Members for Goole (Mr. G. Jeger), Stechford (Mr. Roy Jenkins), Hartlepools (Mr. D. Jones), Newcastle-upon-Tyne, West (Mr. Popplewell), Sunderland, North (Mr. Willey), and the hon. and learned Member for Northampton (Mr. Paget).

From the Liberal Party—

Lord Layton.

The following substitutes have been appointed to act for the delegates when they are absent from Strasbourg:

From the Government benches—

The hon. Members for Antrim, South (Mr. Knox Cunningham) and Gravesend (Mr. Kirk), the hon. and gallant Member for Wells (Lieut.-Commander Maydon), the hon. Members for Bournemouth, East and Christchurch (Mr. N. Nicolson), and Harrogate (Mr. Ramsden), and Viscount Stonehaven.

From the Labour Party—

The hon. Members for Batley and Morley (Dr. Broughton), East Ham, North (Mr. Daines), Motherwell (Mr. Lawson), and Stoke-on-Trent, North (Mrs. Slater).

From the Liberal Party—

The hon. Member for Bolton, West (Mr. Holt).