HC Deb 19 June 1956 vol 554 cc1345-9

(1) Where the Commissioners of Customs and Excise, on an application made in such manner as they may direct, are satisfied that in any week beginning on a Sunday on or after the fifth day of August, nineteen hundred and fifty-six, the total amount of payments for admission received at any one cinematograph theatre (being payments to which this section applies) did not exceed three hundred and fifty pounds. then the entertainments duty chargeable in respect of those payments shall be reduced to such percentage of what that duty would have been, if this section had not been passed, as is shown in the Schedule (Reduction of entertainments duty on small weekly takings at cinematograph theatres) to

this Act, subject to such marginal relief as is shown in that Schedule.

(2) This section applies to payments for admission to entertainments consisting wholly or mainly of the exhibition of a cinematograph film or cinematograph films, being payments in respect of which, if this section had not been passed, duty would have been payable on the scale set out in Part III of First Schedule to the Finance Act, 1954.

(3) In this section the expression "cinematograph theatre" means premises licensed under the provisions of the Cinematograph Act, 1909.—[Mr. Rankin.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Motion made, and Question put, That the Clause be read a Second time:—

The Committee divided: Ayes 212, Noes 253.

Division No.225.] AYES [9.9 p.m.
Ainsley, J. W. Dye, S. Lee, Miss Jennie (Cannock)
Albu, A. H. Ede, Rt. Hon. J. C. Lever, Leslie (Ardwick)
Allaun, Frank (Salford, E.) Edwards, Rt. Hon. Ness (Caerphilly) Lewis, Arthur
Allen, Arthur (Bosworth) Edwards, W. J. (Stepney) Lindgren, G. S.
Allen, Soholefield (Crewe) Evans, Albert (Islington, S.W.) Logan, D. G.
Anderson, Frank Evans, Edward (Lowestoft) Mabon, Dr. J. Dickson
Awbery, S. S. Evans, Stanley (Wednesbury) MacColl, J. E.
Bacon, Miss Alice Fernyhough, E. McGhee, H. G.
Balfour, A. Fienburgh, W. McGovern, J.
Bellenger, Rt. Hon. F. J. Fletcher, Eric McInnes, J.
Bence, C. R. (Dunbartonshire, E.) Forman, J. C. McKay, John (Wallsend)
Benn, Hn. Wedgwood (Bristol, S.E.) Fraser, Thomas (Hamilton) McLeavy, Frank
Benson, G. Gibson, C. W. MacPherson, Malcolm (Stirling)
Beswick, F. Gordon Walker, Rt. Hon. P. C. Mahon, Simon
Bevan, Rt. Hon. A. (Ebbw Vale) Grey, C. F Mallalieu, E. L. (Brigg)
Blackburn, F. Griffiths, David (Bother Valley) Mann, Mrs. Jean
Blenkinsop, A. Griffiths, Rt. Hon. James (Lianelly) Marquand, Rt. Hon. H. A.
Blyton, W. R. Griffiths, William (Exchange) Mason, Roy
Boardman, H. Grimond, J. Mayhew, C. P.
Bottomley, Rt. Hon. A. G. Hale, Leslie Messer, Sir F.
Bowden, H. W. (Leicester, S.W.) Hall, Rt. Hn. Glenvil (Colne Valley) Mikardo, Ian
Bowen, E. R. (Cardigan) Hamilton, W. W. Mitchison, G. R.
Bowles, F. G. Hannan, W. Monslow, W.
Boyd, T. C. Harrison, J. (Nottingham, N.) Moody, A. S.
Braddock, Mrs. Elizabeth Hastings, S. Morris, Percy (Swansea, W.)
Brockway, A. F. Hayman, F. H. Morrison,Rt.Hn.Herbert(Lewis'm,S.)
Broughton, Dr. A. D. D. Hobson, C. R. Mort, D. L.
Brown, Rt. Hon. George (Belper) Holman, P. Moss, R.
Brown, Thomas (Ince) Burton, Miss F. E. Holmes, Horace Moyle, A.
Butler, Herbert (Hackney, C.) Holt, A. F. Mulley, F. W.
Callaghan, L. J. Howell, Charles (Perry Barr) Neal, Harold (Bolsover)
Castle, Mrs. B. A. Howell, Denis (All Saints) Noel-Baker, Rt. Hon. P. (Derby, S.)
Champion, A. J. Hubbard, T. F. O'Brien, Sir Thomas
Chapman, W. D. Hughes, Cledwyn (Anglesey) Oliver, G. H.
Chetwynd, G. R. Hughes, Emrys (S. Ayrshire) Orbach, M.
Clunie, J. Hughes, Hector (Aberdeen, N.) Oswald, T.
Coldrick, W. Hunter, A. E. Owen, W. J.
Collick, P. H. (Birkenhead) Isaacs, Rt. Hon. G. A. Padley, W. E.
Collins, V.J. (Shoreditch & Finsbury) Janner, B. Paget, R. T.
Cove, W G. Jay, Rt. Hon. D. P. T. Paling, Rt. Hon. W. (Dearne Valley)
Craddock, George (Bradford, S.) Jeger, George (Goole) Paling, Will T. (Dewsbury)
Cronin, J. D. Jeger,Mrs.Lena(Holbn & St.Pancs,S). Palmer, A. M. F.
Crossman, R. H. S. Johnson, James (Rugby) Pargiter, G. A.
Cullen, Mrs. A. Jones, David (The Hartlepools) Parker, J.
Darling, George (Hillsborough) Jones, Elwyn (W. Ham, 8.) Parkin, B. T.
Davies, Ernest (Enfield, E.) Jones, Jack (Rotherham) Paton, John
Davies, Stephen (Merthyr) Jones, J. Idwal (Wrexham) Peart, T. F.
Deer, G. Jones, T. W. (Merioneth) Price, J. T. (Westhoughton)
Delargy, H. J. Kenyon, C. Price, Philips (Gloucestershire, W.)
Dodds, N. N. Key, Rt. Hon. C. W. Probert, A. R.
Dugdale, Rt. Hn. John (W. Brmwch) King, Dr. H. M. Proctor, W. T.
Lawson, G. M. Pryde, D. J.
Lee, Frederick (Newton) Randall, H. E.
Rankin, John Steele, T. Wheeldon, W. E.
Redhead, E. C. Stewart, Michael (Fulham) White, Mrs. Eirene (E. Flint)
Reid, William Stones, W. (Consett) White, Henry (Derbyshire, N.E.)
Roberts, Albert (Normanton) Stross,Dr.Barnett(Stoke-on-Trent,C.) Wilkins, W. A.
Roberts, Goronwy (Caernarvon) Summerskill, Rt. Hon. E. Willey, Frederick
Rogers, George (Kensington, N.) Sylvester, G. O. Williams, David (Neath)
Ross, William Taylor, Bernard (Mansfield) Williams, Rt. Hon T (Don Valley)
Royle, C. Taylor, John (West Lothian) Williams, W. R. (Openshaw)
Shinwell, Rt. Hon. E. Thomas, lorwerth (Rhondda, W.) Williams, W. T. (Barons Court)
Short, E. W. Thomson, George (Dundee, E.) Willis, Eustace (Edinburgh, E.)
Shurmer, P. L. E. Thornton, E. Wilson, Rt. Hon. Harold (Huyton)
Silverman, Julius (Aston) Timmons, J. Winterbottom, Richard
Skeffington, A. M. Tomney, F. Woodburn, Rt. Hon. A.
Slater, Mrs. H. (Stoke, N.) Ungoed-Thomas, Sir Lynn Woof, R. E.
Slater, J. (Sedgefield) Wade, D. W. Yates, V. (Ladywood)
Smith, Ellis (Stoke, S.) Weitzman, D. Zilliacus, K.
Sorensen, R. W. Wells, William (Walsall, N.)
Sparks, J. A. West, D. G. TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Mr. Pearson and Mr. Simmons.
Osborne, C. Scott-Miller, Cmdr. R. Thompson, Ltd.-Cdr. R. (Croydon, S.)
Page, R. G. Sharples, R. C. Thornton-Kemsley, C. N.
Pannell, N. A. (Kirkdale) Shepherd, William Tiley, A. (Bradford, W.)
Partridge, E. Simon, J. E. S. (Middlesbrough, W.) Tilney, John (Wavertree)
Peyton, J. W. W. Smithers, Peter (Winchester) Touche, Sir Gordon
Pickthorn, K. W. M. Soames, Capt. C. Turner-Samuels, M.
Pilkington, Capt. R. A. Spearman, Sir Alexander Tweedsmuir, Lady
Pitt, Miss E. M. Speir, R. M. Vane, W. M. F.
Pott, H. P. Spens, Rt. Hn. Sir P. (Kens'gt'n, S.) Vaughan-Morgan, J. K.
Powell, J. Enoch Stanley, Capt. Hon. Richard Vickers, Miss J. H.
Price, Henry (Lewisham, W.) Stevens, Geoffrey Vosper, D. F.
Prior-Palmer, Brig. O. L. Steward, Harold (Stockport, S.) Wakefield, Sir Wavell (St. M'lebone)
Raikes, Sir Victor Steward, Sir William (Woolwich, W.) Walker-Smith, D. C.
Ramsden, J. E. Stewart, Henderson (Fife, E.) Wall, Major Patrick
Rawlinson, Peter Stoddart-Scott, Col. M. Ward, Hon. George (Worcester)
Redmayne, M. Studholme, Sir Henry Waterhouse, Capt. Rt. Hon. C.
Renton, D. L. M. Summers, Sir Spencer Whitelaw, W.S.I.(Penrith & Border)
Roberts, Sir Peter (Heeley) Taylor, Sir Charles (Eastbourne) Williams, Paul (Sunderland, S.)
Robinson, Sir Roland (Blackpool, S.) Taylor, William (Bradford, N.) Williams, Rt. Dudley (Exeter)
Rodgers, John (Sevenoaks) Teeling, W. Woollam, John Victor
Roper, Sir Harold Thomas, Leslie (Canterbury)
Russell, R. S. Thompson, Kenneth (Walton) TELLERS FOR THE NOES:
Schofield, Lt.-Col. W. Mr. Wills and Mr. E. Wakefield.