HC Deb 15 February 1956 vol 548 cc2353-4
40. Mr. Swingler

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs which member-States of the United Nations are now represented on, or associated with, the Consultative Group Co-ordination Committee on East-West Trade; how many of these States have notified the committee of their intention to issue licences for the export of turbo-generators to China; and if he will propose at the next meeting that these goods should be removed from the embargo list.

Mr. Dodds-Parker

The following member-States of the United Nations are represented on the Consultative Group: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

None of these States has notified the Co-ordinating Committee of their intention to issue licences for the export of turbo-generators to China.

As regards the last part of the Question, I have nothing to add to the statement made by my right hon. Friend the Prime Minister on 13th February on the Washington talks.

Mr. Swingler

Does that answer mean that this question has not been raised at all in the Committee? Has there been no discussion about it? Is there no liaison between the Committee and Sweden and Switzerland? Is the hon. Gentleman aware that Sweden is exporting turbo-generators to China, and is it part of the Government's policy that the Swedes and the Swiss should have first preference in the China market because they had the advantage of not participating in the Korean war?

Mr. Dodds-Parker

No. Switzerland is not a member of the United Nations and Sweden did not sign the United Nations Resolution.

Back to
Forward to