HC Deb 20 December 1956 vol 562 c1595

Motion made, and Question proposed, That Mr. Albu, Sir John Barlow, Mr. Blyton, Mr. Ernest Davies, Sir Ian Horobin. Sir James Hutchison, Colonel Lancaster, Mr. Palmer, Mr. Robens, Sir Patrick Spens, Mr. Wade, Dame Irene Ward, and Mr. Geoffrey Wilson be Members of the Select Committee on Nationalised Industries (Reports and Accounts): That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers and records: That the Committee have power to report from time to time: That Five be the Quorum.—[Mr. R. A. Butler.]

Mr. Harold Wilson (Huyton)

Since this matter is not clear to the House, although it has been on the Order Paper, may I ask you, Mr. Speaker, whether this Motion is debatable?

Mr. Speaker

It is debatable, but it is nearly ten o'clock and it cannot be proceeded with after that hour.

Mr. Wilson

Very well, Mr. Speaker.

Question put and agreed to.