HC Deb 03 November 1955 vol 545 cc1179-81
2. Mr. Fenner Brockway

asked the Under-Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations the names of the mem- bers of the Council of Bechuanaland who are supporters of the claim of Seretse Khama to return to the Protectorate.

Mr. Dodds-Parker

I am circulating in the OFFICIAL REPORT the names of the members of the African Advisory Council. As I indicated in my reply to a Question by the hon. Member on 27th October, the feelings of individual members towards Seretse Khama, even if these were known, have nothing to do with their eligibility for appointment to this Council.

Mr. Brockway

Does the hon. Gentleman remember that on Thursday last he said that my statement that there are no supporters of Seretse Khama on this Council was just not true? Will he withdraw that accusation, in view of the fact that he is unable to provide any evidence today that there are supporters on the Council?

Mr. Dodds-Parker

I told the hon. Member that we do not particularise whether there are or are not supporters of Seretse Khama on this Council.

Mr. E. L. Mallalieu

Whether the Under-Secretary of State particularises in this matter or not, is it not a fact that there are no supporters of Seretse on this Council, and is that not rather odd?

Mr. Dodds-Parker

I do not accept what the hon. and learned Gentleman implies in his supplementary question.

Following are the names:

Members of the African Advisory Council. Bechuanaland


BAKWENA: Kgosi Kgari Sechele II O.B.E., Councillors Martinus Seboni, and Sankoloba Matlhabaphiri.

BATAWANA: Mohumagadi E.P. Moremi, Councillors Montsho Mogalakwe, Tsheko Tsheka and Frekkie R. Kasoma.

BAROLONG: Monnakgosi L.W. Montshiwa, Councillors Dr. S. M. Molema and S. M. Phetlhu.

BAKGATLA: Chief Molefi K. Pilane, Councillors Bogatsu Pilane and Mothi Pilane.

BANGWAKETSE: Kgosi Bathoen II O.B.E., Councillors K. R. Borne, G. A. T. Gare and R. N. Kalabeng.

BAMANGWATO: Kgosi Rasebolai G. Kgamane, Councillors S. Kgamane, Oten Mphoeng, Molwa Sekgoma, O. Sedimo, O. Ntsaga, Moses Mengwe and Phoghuetsile Sello.

BATLOKWA: Kgosi Kgosi Gaborone, Councillors Keema Gaborone and Sakaio Bogatsu.

BAMALETE: Kgosi Mokgosi III, Councillors K. M. Ikaneng and Matthews K. Moagi.

CHOBE: Gontse Maome.

KGALAGADI: Moapare Mosiiwa (Hukuntsi) and Seetelo Totoe (Tshabong).

GHANZI: Pheko Kolwane,

FRANCISTOWN: M. Moreka and Ntsheketsan Masunga.


3. Mr. Fenner Brockway

asked the Under-Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations on what grounds headmen and sub-chiefs at Bokalaka, Mahalapye, Palapye, Sefhare, Mookane, Letlhakane, Tonota, Gwetla, Bobonong, Madinare and Mosu, in Bechuanaland, have been deposed since Seretse Khama was exiled from the Protectorate.

Mr. Dodds-Parker

I regret that it has not been possible to obtain at such short notice the information for which the hon. Member asks. I will let the hon. Member know the answer as soon as it is received.

Mr. Brockway

Again, does the hon. Gentleman remember that last Thursday he stated that it was just not true that any supporters of Seretse Khama had been deposed as headmen and sub-chiefs? When he gets that information, will he withdraw his charge against me if his information proves to be inaccurate?

Mr. Dodds-Parker

Certainly, if it is inaccurate. I asked the hon. Gentleman to let me have that information straight away but he did not let me have it until Monday, so I could not, in fact, check it.

Mr. Hale

If the hon. Gentleman does not know now what chiefs have been deposed because information has not arrived at the Commonwealth Office, how does he know that none have, and why did he say last week that none had been deposed?

Mr. Dodds-Parker

For the same reason that hon. Gentlemen opposite do not say to which faction in that party they belong.