HC Deb 07 June 1951 vol 488 c1197
5. Mr. Parker

asked the Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations what is the composition of the European Advisory Council of Bechuanaland; how are its members elected; how often does the Council meet; and what are its powers.

Mr. Gordon-Walker

The European Advisory Council of the Bechuanaland Protectorate consists of the Resident Commissioner who is ex-officio President, the Deputy Resident Commissioner, six other official members and eight elected members. The official members are appointed by the Resident Commissioner. The elected members represent eight electoral divisions into which the Territory is divided. All Europeans who satisfy the residence and property or income qualifications are entitled to be nominated for election to the Council and to be registered as voters. The Council usually meets twice a year and its function is to advise the Resident Commissioner on matters directly affecting the European residents of the Territory. It has no power other than that of tendering advice. I am sending my hon. Friend a copy of the Proclamation under which the Council was established.

Forward to