HC Deb 25 July 1949 vol 467 c1793
22. Mr. A. Edward Davies

asked the Minister of Transport what progress has been made in setting up consultative transport committees as provided for under Section 6 of the Transport Act, 1947; and how many of them are functioning.

The Minister of Transport (Mr. Barnes)

The Central Transport Consultative Committee has been working for six months. I have now appointed the Committees for Scotland and Wales and, with permission, I will circulate in HANSARD a list of the members of these two Committees. With regard to the London committee, I would refer my hon. Friend to the reply I gave the hon. Member for Hornsey (Mr. Gammans) on 4th July. Area committees will be appointed subsequent to the coming into effect of the area road passenger transport schemes.

Following is the list:


Mr. Neil S. Beaton, J.P. (Chairman); Mr. A. R. Semple; The Rt. Hon. the Earl of Elgin and Kincardine, K.T., C.M.G., LL.D., T.D.; Mr. W. Mackenzie; Mr. C. M. Anderson; Mr. R. H. Murdoch; Mr. P. C. Somerville; Mr. J. Brannigan; Mr. M. Bush; Mr. T. D. Storrar; Mrs. R. G. Thomson; Mrs. I. M. McNair, O.B.E.; Councillor W. P. Earsman; Councillor G. Mulholland; Councillor D. M. Bonner, J.P.; Captain Sir Ian Bolton, Bt., O.B.E.; Mr. J. B. Hastie, O.B.E.; Mr. T. F. Cameron.


Lieut-Colonel H. Edmund Davies, K.C. (Chairman); Mr. J. Hodgkinson; Captain H. Leighton Davies, C.B.E., J.P.; Councillor W. L. Davies; Mr. W. Clayton Russon, M.B.E.; Mr. H. Lyn Jones, M.C.; Mr. R. G. M. Street; Mr. S. Davies; Mrs. E. Darbishire, J.P.; Mr. J. Highfield; Councillor T. Lloyd Williams; Councillor J. Howell; Councillor M. Selby, J.P.; Professor A. Beacham, Ph.D.; Lady Olwen Carey Evans; Mr. H. H. Swift; Mr. E. V. Swallow, J.P.