HC Deb 12 February 1948 vol 447 cc547-8
10. Mr. Benn Levy

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department to what extent, in considering permits for foreign doctors, he is guided by the advice of a medical committee; what are the principles on which this committee operates; how it is appointed; and who are its members.

Mr. Ede

As the answer is long, I will, with permission, circulate it in the OFFICIAL REPORT.

Mr. Levy

Is my right hon. Friend aware that, whatever the system as revealed in his answer may be, as an example of its inadequacy I have called his attention to the case of an eminent Italian urologist called Franceschi, who, in spite of testimonials from leading physicians in this country, has been refused permission to work on the advice of this committee—

Mr. Speaker

The hon. Gentleman seems to be giving a lot of information, not asking for it.

Following is the answer:

In controlling the admission of foreign doctors to take employment or set up in practice in this country, I am advised by a committee (known as the Aliens Committee) of the Central Medical War Committee, a body widely representative of the medical profession which was set up by direction of the Committee of Imperial Defence to advise on the utilisation of the medical manpower of this country. The main Committee is re-appointed annually and its membership is approved by my right hon. Friend the Minister of Health. As regards foreign doctors already accepted as residents here, the Aliens Committee is asked for its views on the suitability of the proposed employment or the location of the proposed practice, as the case may be; as regards foreign doctors who have been admitted to this country for some temporary purpose and then ask permission to practise, the aspect on which the Committee advises is the value of the contribution which the practitioner in question is able to make to the medical knowledge and services of this country. The constitution of the Committee is as follows: The Chairman of the Central Medical War Committee (ex-officio) H S. Souttar, Esq., C.B., M.Ch., F.R.C.S., F.R.A.C.S. Representatives of Royal Colleges:
  • Sir Arthur McNalty, K.C.B., D.M., F.R.C.P.
  • Sir Alfred Webb-Johnson, K.C.V.O., C.B.E., D.S.O., P.R.C.S., F.R.A.C.S., F.R.F.P.S.
  • J. M. Wyatt, Esq., F.R.C.S.
Representatives of the B.M.A
  • Dr. H. Guy Dain, LL.D.
  • Dr L. Haden Guest, M.C., M.P.
  • Dr. F. Gray.
  • Professor Samson Wright, M.D.
  • Dr. J. A. Brown.
  • Dr J. C Matthews, M.C., F.R.C.P.
  • Dr T. MacCarthy.
  • Dr. J. M Johnstone.
Representative of the Society of Medical Officers of Health:
  • Dr. J. A. Struthers
Representatives of the Home Office and Ministry of Health attend the meetings of the Committee as observers and for the purpose of giving the Committee any information they may desire
Forward to