HC Deb 28 October 1947 vol 443 cc689-90
44. Mr. Mathers

asked the Minister of National Insurance whether he intends to appoint the National Insurance Advisory Committee which will advise and assist him in the operation of the National Insurance Act, 1946.

Mr. J. Griffiths

I am glad to have this opportunity of announcing that the National Insurance Advisory Committee has now been appointed. Sir Will Spens, C.B.E., J.P., Master of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, has accepted the Chairmanship of the Committee. I am circulating the names of the members in the OFFICIAL REPORT. The Committee will shortly begin consideration of those preliminary drafts of regulations which I am required by the Act to submit to them. The Committee will give public notice that these draft regulations are under consideration, and all persons affected will have an opportunity of putting before the Committee any objections to the draft regulations. The Committee will also advise me on any questions which I refer to them relating to the operation of the Act.

Mr. Mathers

May I ask the right hon. Gentleman whether he can give the names of the Committee?

Mr. Griffiths

Yes, Sir. The names are: Sir John S. Boyd, Mrs. Dorothy Rees, Dr. John Ritchie, Dr. W. A. Robson, Miss Eileen Spelman, Mr. Townley, Mr. Frank Wolstencroft and Professor J. K. Charlesworth. Particulars of their experience will be given in the OFFICIAL REPORT.

Following is the list of members of the Committee: Sir John S. Boyd—Vice-President, Shipbuilding Employers' Federation, Mrs. Dorothy M. Rees, J.P.—Alderman of Glamorgan County Council and of Barry Borough Council, Dr. John Ritchie, M.B. Ch.B., D.P.H., M.R.C.P. (Ed.)—Former Medical Officer of Health for the County of Dumfries and former President of the Society of Medical Officers of Health (Scotland), Dr. W. A. Robson, B.Sc. (Econ.) Ph.D.— Reader in Administrative Law at the London School of Economics, Miss Eileen M. Spelman—Warden of the F.B. (Florence Boot) Hall of Residence for Women, University College, Nottingham, Mr. H. W. Townley—Secretary of the National Conference of Friendly Societies, Mr. Frank Wolstencroft, C.B.E.—General Secretary, Amalgamated Society of Woodworkers since 1926. Member of the General Council of the Trades Union Congress and President of the Trades Union Congress 1941–42, and Professor J. K. Charlesworth—Professor of Geology, Queen's University, Belfast, Member of the Unemployment Insurance Statutory Committee, who will be formally appointed a member of the Committee as soon as the formal steps necessary for establishing reciprocal arrangements with Northern Ireland under the new scheme are completed.