HC Deb 22 January 1947 vol 432 c202
18. Sir Ralph Glyn

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies what is the Executive Committee for Home Affairs in Ceylon, by whom appointed, and with what terms of reference.

Mr. Creech Jones

This Committee consists, at the present time, of seven members of the State Council, one of whom is Chairman and, in consequence, Minister for Home Affairs. They are elected by the State Council, and corporately exercise general control over the Departments of Government concerned with the subjects or functions allocated to the Committee under the existing Constitution.

Back to