HC Deb 28 March 1946 vol 421 cc576-7
70. Sir Frank Sanderson

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer whether he will publish a list of countries who accepted membership of the International Monetary Fund and Bank up to the date of the first meeting now in session at Savannah; and if he will also publish a list of countries whose representatives attended the original Bretton Woods Monetary Conference who have not yet accepted membership.

Mr. Dalton

As the answer is detailed, I will, with permission, circulate it in the OFFICIAL REPORT.

Following is the answer:

Up to the opening of the Savannah Meeting, the following countries had accepted membership of the International Monetary Fund and Bank:

Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia (Fund only), Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, India, Iran, Iraq, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Union of South Africa, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Yugoslavia.

Denmark had intimated her desire to join and her quota was fixed at Savannah. El Salvador, Nicaragua and Panama joined both bodies during the meeting. Of the countries represented at Bretton Woods, Australia, New Zealand, the U.S.S.R., Venezuela, Haiti and Liberia have not accepted membership, but all except the last two were represented by observers at Savannah.