HC Deb 31 May 1945 vol 411 cc349-50
41. Dr. Haden Guest

asked the Minister of Health the composition of the Medical Personnel (Priority) Committee; and whether the work of this committee is to be continued.

Mr. Willink

The Medical Personnel (Priority) Committee consists of the hon. Baronet the Member for Norwich (Sir G. Shakespeare), as Chairman, and twelve medical men representing the several branches of the profession and the Service Departments. With permission I will circulate the names in the Official Report. The Committee and its chairman have done most valuable work and there is no intention of bringing it to an end so long as general questions affecting the release and continued recruitment of doctors are still likely to arise for their consideration.

The members of the Committee are:

Sir Geoffrey Shakespeare, Bt., M.P., Chairman.

Sir Girling Ball, F.R.C.S., Dean, Medical Faculty, St. Bartholomew's Hospital.

Professor J. Crighton Bramwell, M.D., F.R.C.P., Dean, Medical Faculty, Manchester University.

Major General R. J. Blackham, C.B., C.M.G., C.I.E., D.S.O. M.D., War Office.

J. A. Brown, M.D., General Practitioner, Birmingham.

W. M. Knox, M.B., Ch.B., General Practitioner, Glasgow.

Surgeon Rear Admiral A. E. Malone, M.B., D.P.H., Admiralty.

Air Commodore D. McLaren, M.B., Ch.B., Air Ministry.

Professor R. M. F. Picken, M.B., B.Sc., D.P.H., Mansell Talbot Professor of Preventive Medicine, Welsh National School of Medicine.

Professor Sydney Smith, C.B.E., M.D., F.R.C.P., D.P.H., F.R.C.S., Dean, Medical Faculty. Edinburgh University.

Sir Alfred Webb-Johnson, Bt., K.C.V.O., C.B.E., D.S.O., President, Royal College of Surgeons.

The Lord Moran, M.C., M.D., President, Royal College of Physicians.

H. S. Souttar, C.B.E., D.M., F.R.C.S., Past Chairman of the Central Medical War Committee.