HC Deb 17 January 1945 vol 407 cc158-9
53. Sir D. Hacking

asked the Lord President of the Council whether he will give the names of the members of the committee which has been appointed to advise and assist the Medical Research Council in promoting research into electro-acoustical problems relating to the design and application of instruments in the alleviation of deafness; and whether he has anything to report as a result of the labours of this committee.

The Lord President of the Council (Mr. Attlee)

The names of the members of the Committee are as follow: Dr. W. G. Radley (Chairman), Mr. E. J. Barnes, Sir Lawrence Bragg, Mr. N. Fleming, Dr. C. S. Halpike, Mr. L. C. Pocock and Dr. T. S. Littler (Secretary).

The Committee have formulated a detailed programme of research, and investigations in which physicists are collaborating with otologists and physiologists are in progress. The investigations now in hand will necessarily take some time to complete, and it is not anticipated that the Committee will be in a position to make any recommendations before the end of the year.

Sir D. Hacking

Will my right hon. Friend give the same practical sympathy to those who are totally and partially deaf as is meted out by the Government to those who are totally or partially blind?

Mr. Attlee

I hardly think that that arises out of the question of the appointment of this Committee and its work, but of course we all have that sympathy.

Mr. McKinlay

Will the right hon. Gentleman place at the disposal of the Committee Members on the Front Bench for operational purposes?