HC Deb 21 August 1945 vol 413 c586

Order read for resuming Adjourned Debate on Question [20th August]: That a Select Committee be appointed to control the arrangements for the Kitchen and Refreshment Rooms in the department of the Serjeant at Arms attending this House."—[Mr. Mathers.]

Question put, and agreed to.

Resolved: That the Committee do consist of Seventeen Members.

Motion made, and Question proposed, That Mr. Bartlett, Mr. Francis Beattie, Lieut.-Commander Gurney Braithwaite, Viscountess Davidson, Mr. George Griffiths, Mrs. Ayrton Gould, Mr. Hardman, Mr. Keeling, Mr. Arthur Lewis, Mr. Mainwaring, Mr. McEntee, Sir Henry Morris-Jones, Mr. R. C. Morrison, Mrs. Ridealgh, Mr. Sloan, Mr. Walkden and Major Sir Arthur Young be Members of the Committee."—[Mr. Mathers.]

9.31 p.m.

Dr. Morgan (Rochdale)

I would like to seek some information as to how the Members of these Committees are chosen and to express surprise that only one doctor in the House of Commons is on this important Committee dealing with the question of the refreshment of the House.

The Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury (Mr. William Whiteley)

We have had to do these things in rather a hurry. There have been many Committees to set up in a very short time and I should be much obliged to the House therefore if hon. Members would agree to this Committee and we will take those matters into consideration which my hon. Friend has raised.

Question put, and agreed to.

Resolved: That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers and records.

Resolved: That three be the Quorum."—[Mr. Mathers.]

Forward to