HC Deb 11 November 1943 vol 393 cc1275-6
33. Mr. Messer

asked the Minister of Health the names of those county and county borough councils which have not yet appropriated, in whole or in part, their institutions under the Act of 1929?

Mr. E. Brown

With permission I will circulate the list in the OFFICIAL REPORT. It contains 30 county councils and 30 county borough councils.

Following is the list:

The following are the local authorities in England and Wales which own institutions and have not appropriated them in whole or in part, under the Local Government Act, 1929:

County Councils (30) County Borough Councils (30)
Buckingham. Barrow-in-Furness.
Cambridge. Bath.
Derby. Blackburn.
Dorset. Bournemouth
Isle of Ely. Burton-on-Trent.
Hertford. Canterbury.
Huntingdon. Darlington.
Leicester. Doncaster.
Northampton. Eastbourne.
Northumberland. East Ham.
Oxford. Exeter.
Soke of Peterborough. Gt. Yarmouth.
Rutland. Hastings.
East Suffolk. Huddersfield.
West Suffolk. Kingston-upon-Hull.
East Sussex. Lincoln.
Warwick. Northampton.
Westmorland. Norwich.
Isle of Wight. Oxford.
Worcester. Stoke-on-Trent.
Yorks, E.R. Tvnemouth.
Anglesey. Wallasey.
Brecknock. West Ham.
Caernarvon. Wigan.
Denbigh. Wolverhamptom.
Merioneth. Worcester.
Montgomery. York.
Pembroke. Merthyr Tvdfil.
Radnor. Newport (Mon.).