HC Deb 19 November 1941 vol 376 cc290-1
34. Rear-Admiral Beamish

asked the Parliamentary Secretary to. the Ministry of Works and Buildings whether he will state the qualifications of the members of the committee recently set up to consider conditions which should govern building and other developments in country areas; and, if no town and country planning expert has been appointed, will he make such an appointment?

The Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Works and Buildings (Mr. Hicks)

I am giving in the OFFICIAL REPORT the list of members of the committee. For this task it was felt best to invite persons with actual experience of the relevant activities. The committee will consult planning experts and the services of the technical Government staff are available to them.

Following is the list of names of Lord Justice Scott's Committee:

Lord Justice Scott (Chairman), Chairman of the Agricultural Organisation, 1917–1922, and of the Acquisition of Land Committee, 1917–1919;

Lord Addison, Minister of Agriculture, 1930–1931, present Chairman of the Buckinghamshire War Agricultural Committee;

Lord Radnor, one of the Liaison Officers to the Ministry of Agriculture, and member of the Executive of the Central Landowners Association;

Lady Denman, Chairman of the National Federation of Women's Institutes and of the Women's Land Army;

Mr. R. Cobb, member of the Executive of the Chartered Surveyors Institute;

Mr. H. S. Cooper, one of the Managing Directors of the Ford Motor Company; also a Director of Fordson Estates, Limited, which administers approximately 4,000 acres of land in Essex;

Mr. S. R. Dennison, Professor of Economics at University College, Swansea;

Mrs. Lionel Hichens, member of the Royal Commission on the Distribution of the Industrial Population;

Mr. A. E. Monks, an official of the National Union of Agricultural Workers;

Mr. L. Ramsbottom, head of the Rural Department of the National Council of Social Service;

Mr. R. H. Roberts, formerly Industrial Adviser to the Commissioner for Special Areas;

Mr. P. Robinson, Director of the Co-operative Wholesale Society;

Dr. L. Dudley Stamp, Director of the Land Utilisation Survey of Britain;

Mr. R. A. Ward, member of the Council of the National Farmers' Union, past Chairman of the West Sussex Branch of the N.F.U.

Forward to