HC Deb 12 June 1941 vol 372 cc335-6
53. Earl Winterton

asked the Minister of Agriculture whether he is yet in a position to make the further announcement as to the appointment of the body which is to see that the results of research are made known to the ordinary farmer?

Mr. Hudson

Yes, Sir. I have appointed a body which will be known as the "Agricultural Improvement Council for England and Wales," with the following terms of reference: to devise methods for seeing that promising results of research are applied as rapidly as possible to the problems of agriculture and are incorporated in ordinary farming practice; and to advise from time to time concerning agricultural problems which appear to require scientific investigation. The Council will consist of a Chairman and 19 members, and the term of appointment will be for three years with the possibility of reappointment. I am circulating the names of the Committee in the Official Report.

Following is the information:

Sir Donald Fergusson, K.C.B. Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries (Chairman).

Mr. Dennis Brown, farmer.

Lord Cornwallis, M.C., Chairman of Kent War Agricultural Executive Committee.

Professor T. Dalling, M.A., M.R.C.V.S., Institute of Animal Pathology, Cambridge.

Professor F. L. Engledow, C.M.G. School of Agriculture, Cambridge.

Captain E. Foster, O.B.E., Chairman of Shropshire War Agricultural Executive Committee.

Mr. A. Holness, Editor of the Journal of the National Union of Agricultural Workers.

Mr. C. Nevile, farmer, Vice-President of N.F.U.

Professor J. A. Scott Watson, School of Rural Economy, Oxford.

Professor Sir R. George Staple don, C.B.E., M.A., F.R.S., Welsh Plant Breeding Station, Aberystwyth.

Professor W. W. C. Topley, F.R.S., Secretary of Agricultural Research Council.

Mr. L. G. Troup, Agricultural Organiser and Executive Officer of Hants War Agricultural Executive Committee.

I have also invited the Earl of Fever-sham to be a member of the council on his return from active service abroad.

Technical Secretaries:

Mr. J. C. F. Fryer, O.B.E., Mr. E. C. Lloyd, M.R.C.V.S.

Administrative Secretary:

Mr. W. R. Black, M.B.E.