HC Deb 05 February 1941 vol 368 cc944-7
57. Mr. Liddall

asked the Home Secretary whether he will give a list of Regional Commissioners and their assistants at the present date, and the salaries paid, respectively: showing in which cases payment has been, or is being, respectively, refused?

Mr. Mabane

I will, with my hon. Friend's permission, circulate the names of Regional Commissioners, Deputy Regional Commissioners, and Scottish District Commissioners and Deputy District Commissioners in the OFFICIAL REPORT. The maximum annual rates of salary payable to Regional Commissioners and Deputy Commissioners are £2,500 and £1,000 respectively, and to District Commissioners and Deputy District Commissioners £1,000 and £750 respectively. It was left to the individual Commissioners to decide what remuneration, if any, they would accept within the maxima allowable. A number of them have wished to give their services without accepting any salary, while others have not been in a position to give their services

Region. Regional Commissioner. Deputy Regional Commissioner.
Northern (Northumberland, Durham, and North Riding of Yorkshire). Sir Arthur Lambert, M.C. J. J. Lawson, Esq., M.P.
North Eastern (East and West Ridings of Yorkshire and City of York. The Rt. Hon. Lord Harlech, G.C.M.G. E. Dunn, Esq., M.P.
North Midland (Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Rutland and most of Derbyshire). The Lord Trent. H. A. S. Wortley, Esq.
Eastern (Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Huntingdonshire, Bedfordshire, and those parts of Essex and Hertfordshire not included in London Region). Sir Will Spens, C.B.E. The Earl of Cranbrook.
London (Counties of London and Middlesex and parts of Essex, Hertfordshire, Surrey and Kent). Senior Regional Commissioner:
Sir Ernest Gowers, K.C.B., K.B.E.
Regional Commissioners:
Admiral Sir Edward Evans, K.C.B., D.S.O.
Charles W. Key, Esq., M.P.
Southern (Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight, part of Dorset and those parts of Surrey not included in London Region). Harold Butler, Esq., C.B. R. H. Bernays, Esq., M.P.
South Western (Gloucestershire, Wiltshire, Somerset, Devon, Cornwall and the Scilly Isles, and most of Dorset). General Sir Hugh Elles, K.C.B., K.C.V.O., K.C.M.G. Maj-Gen. G. M. Lindsay, C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O.
Wales (the Principality and Monmouthshire). Joint Regional Commissioners:
Robert Richards, Esq., M.P.
Col. Sir Gerald T. Bruce, K.C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O.
Midland (Staffordshire, Shropshire, Warwickshire Worcestershire and Herefordshire). The Earl of Dudley, M.C. S. J. Grey, Esq.
North Western (Cumberland, Westmoreland, Lancashire, and most of Cheshire). Sir Harry Graham Haig, K.C.S.I., C.I.E. Col. T. Blatherwick, C.B., D.S.O., M.C.
Scotland The Rt. Hon. Thomas Johnston, M.P. The Earl of Rosebery, D.S.O., M.C,
South Eastern (Sussex and those portions of Kent not included in London Region). The Rt. Hon. Sir Auckland Geddes, G.C.M.G., K.C.B. Viscount Knollys, M.B.E., D.F.C.

without remuneration. In these circumstances the House will, I hope, not wish me to enter into any further details of the particular amounts paid to the various Commissioners.

Following are the names:

District. District Commissioner. Deputy District Commissioner.
South Eastern (Berwick, Roxburgh, Peebles, Selkirk and Lothians). Will Y. Darling, Esq., C.B.E., M.C.
Eastern (Angus, Perthshire, Fife and Kinross). John Phin, Esq., J.P., LL.D. R. Nimmo, Esq., J.P.
North Eastern (Aberdeen, Kincardine, Moray, Banff, Orkney and Zetland). Alexander T. Morrison, Esq., J.P. H. W. Scarth, Esq., Col. J. Dawson, D.S.O.
Northern (Sutherland, Caithness, Ross and Cromarty, Inverness and Nairn). Col. The Hon. I. M. Campbell, D.S.O., M.A.
Western (Argyllshire, Bute, Dumbartonshire, Stirlingshire, Renfrewshire, Lanarkshire, Ayrshire, Wigtown, Kirkcudbright and Dumfriesshire). Sir Stephen Bilsland, Bart., M.C. William Quinn, Esq., J.P.