HC Deb 19 June 1940 vol 362 cc166-7
15. Captain Plugge

asked the Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies whether he will give the names of those Colonies in which compulsory military training has been introduced; and whether he will recommend the adoption of this step in those Colonies where the system has not already been introduced?

The Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies (Mr. George Hall)

Legislation providing for compulsory military service exists in the British Solomon Islands, Ceylon, the Falkland Islands, Fiji, the Gilbert and Ellice Islands, Hong Kong, Kenya, Uganda, Malaya, Tonga, Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland. Proposals are now under consideration for the introduction of similar legislation in the four West African Colonies, namely, the Gambia, Sierra Leone, Gold Coast and Nigeria. It has not so far been found necessary to introduce legislation of this kind in other parts of the Colonial Empire.

Sir P. Hannon

Is the Minister giving the suggestion to the various parts of the Colonial Empire, because he ought to institute a service of this kind at the earliest possible moment, in view of the present situation?

Mr. Hall

I made reference to that point in the concluding part of my reply.

Dr. Haden Guest

Will the extension to the West African Colonies include the Protectorates as well as the Colonies proper?

Mr. Hall

I have given the names of Gambia, Sierra Leone, Gold Coast and Nigeria.

Dr. Guest

The hon. Gentleman will, of course, be aware that in the case of Nigeria part of it is a Colony and part of it is a Protectorate. Will this apply to both parts?

Mr. Hall

I will look into that and will let the hon. Member know.