HC Deb 02 November 1938 vol 340 c183
4. Mr. Day

asked the Prime Minister which countries have now signed the convention, agreed at Geneva on 10th February, 1938, regarding the status of refugees coming from Germany; and in what countries is the provisional agreement, concluded at Geneva on 4th July, 1936, still in force?

The Under-Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs (Mr. Butler)

The convention of 10th February, 1938, has been signed and ratified by Belgium and the United Kingdom. It has been signed but not ratified by France, Denmark, the Netherlands, Norway and Spain. The provisional arrangement of 4th July, 1936, is, therefore, still in force in Denmark, France, Norway, the Netherlands, Spain and Switzerland.

Mr. Day

Are negotiations going on in order that other countries may ratify the convention?

Mr. Butler

I think that they will ratify it when they find it convenient.