HC Deb 09 March 1938 vol 332 c1883
41. Mr. Parker

asked the Under-Secretary of State for Air what were the numbers of the first line and reserve aeroplanes on 1st March, 1937, of the following categories: fighters, bombers, Army and Fleet co-operation, flying boats, and torpedo bombers; what is the number of aeroplanes in reserve; and what is the increase in each category since that date?

Lieut.-Colonel Muirhead

On 1st March, 1937, the Royal Air Force consisted of 25 fighter squadrons, 63 bomber squadrons, 10 Army co-operation squadrons, 14 general reconnaissance squadrons (including nine equipped with flying boats) and four torpedo bomber squadrons; and in addition there were the equivalent of 20 squadrons in the Fleet Air Arm. Since that date the following increases have been effected: five fighter squadrons, 20 bomber squadrons, five Army co-operation squadrons and three general reconnaissance squadrons (including one equipped with flying boats). It would not be in the public interest to state the numbers of aircraft held against the various types of squadrons.