HC Deb 03 March 1938 vol 332 c1260
10. Mr. Day

asked the Minister of Labour what steps have been taken by the Governments who were parties to the Washington Hours Convention Act to ratify the same; and will he give particulars of the present position and the conditions specified by the various Governments?

Mr. E. Brown

I assume the hon. Member refers to the Convention on Hours of Work in Industry which was adopted by the first International Labour Conference at Washington in 1919. This Convention has been ratified by 18 countries and conditionally ratified by four countries. I will, with the hon. Member's permission, circulate in the OFFICIAL REPORT a list showing the names of these countries and the conditions, if any, which they have specified.

Mr. Day

Will the Minister ascertain what are the conditions on which Germany will agree to ratification?

Following is the list:

Ratified: Argentine, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Dominica, Greece, India, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Nicaragua, Portugal, Rumania, Spain, Uruguay.

Conditionally Ratified: Austria (only to be put into force when it has also been ratified by the European States of chief industrial importance which are Members of the International Labour Organisation and also by the States bordering on Austria with which Austria has economic relations); France (only to have effect when also ratified by Germany and by Great Britain); Italy (to date from the day when the Convention has also been ratified by Germany, Belgium, France, Great Britain and Switzerland); Latvia (to come into force when also ratified by three of the States of chief industrial importance within the meaning of Article 393 of the Treaty of Versailles).