HC Deb 05 December 1938 vol 342 c849
32. Mr. Malcolm MacMillan

asked the Prime Minister what South American nations have left the League of Nations since 1935, or have given notice of their intention to leave?

Mr. Butler

Since 1st January, 1935, the following South American States have left the League: Paraguay, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In addition, Salvador, Venezuela and Chile have given notice of their intention to withdraw from the League.

Mr. MacMillan

Can the Under-Secretary state reasons why these States have left or are leaving the League, apart from their disgust with the unrellability of the Great Powers, including His Majesty's Government?

Back to