HC Deb 28 April 1938 vol 335 c308
66. Mr. David Grenfell

asked the Secretary of State for Dominion Affairs whether he has any further statement to make regarding the composition of the Standing Joint Advisory Conference between the Union of South Africa and the High Commission territories?

The Under-Secretary of State for Dominion Affairs (Marquess of Harting-ton)

Yes, Sir. As my right hon. Friend stated in reply to questions on 29th March, the representatives of the High Commission Territories will be the three Resident Commissioners. The representatives of the Union Government will be Mr. D. L. Smit, Secretary for Native Affairs, Dr. P. R. Viljoen, Secretary for Agriculture, and Dr. J. E. Holloway, Secretary for Finance. The chairman of the Conference will be the Senior Resident Commissioner. It is proposed to hold a preliminary meeting of the Conference at Pretoria on 6th May.

Mr. Grenfell

Is there not to be any representation of the people most vitally concerned, that is, the native population?

Marquess of Hartington

They are represented by the Resident Commissioners.