HC Deb 30 November 1937 vol 329 cc1999-2001

Motion made, and Question proposed, "That the Clause stand part of the Bill."

9.39 p.m.

Mr. Herbert Morrison

I rise simply to state that, having divided against the last Clause, because we do not think that the local authorities ought to be involved in

any expenditure on this subject, we shall now divide against this Clause, because we consider that the grants which it is proposed shall be made by the Government are inadequate and unsatisfactory.

Question put, "That the Clause stand part of the Bill."

The Committee divided: Ayes, 213; Noes, 97.

Division No. 34.] AYES. [9.38 p.m.
Adams, S. V. T. (Leeds, W.) Dorman-Smith, Major Sir R. H. Loftus, P. C.
Anderson, Sir A. Garrett (C. of Ldn.) Duckworth, Arthur (Shrewsbury) Lyons, A. M.
Aske, Sir R. W. Dugdale, Captain T. L. Mabane, W. (Huddersfield)
Astor, Hon. W. W. (Fulham, E.) Duggan, H. J. MacAndrew, Colonel Sir C. G.
Baldwin-Webb, Col. J. Duncan, J. A. L. MoCorquodate, M. S.
Balfour, G. (Hampstead) Elliot, Rt. Hon. W E. Macdonald, Capt. P. (Isle of Wight)
Balfour, Capt. H. H. (Isle of Thanet) Elliston, Capt. G. S. McEwen, Capt. J. H. F.
Barrie, Sir C. C. Emery, J. F. Macmillan, H. (Stockton-on-Tees)
Beamish, Rear-Admiral T. P. H. Emmott, C. E. G. C. Macquisten, F. A.
Beaumont, Hon. R. E. B. (Portsmth) Emrys-Evans, P. V. Magnay, T.
Beechman, N. A. Entwistle, Sir C. F. Makins, Brig.-Gen. E.
Bernays, R. H. Errington, E. Manningham-Buller, Sir M.
Birchall, Sir J. D. Erskine-Hill, A. G. Margesson, Capt. Rt. Hon. H. D. R.
Bird, Sir R. B. Evans, Capt. A. (Cardin, S.) Mason, Lt.-Col. Hon. G. K. M.
Bossom, A. C. Everard, W. L. Maxwell, Hon. S. A.
Bowater, Col. Sir T. Vansittart Fildes, Sir H. Mayhew, Lt.-Col. J.
Boyce, H. Leslie Fleming, E. L. Mellor, Sir J. S. P. (Tamworth)
Bracken, B. Furness, S. N. Mills, Major J. D. (New Forest)
Brass, Sir W. Ganzoni, Sir J. Mitchell, H. (Brentlord and Chiswick)
Briscoe, Capt. R. G. Gibson, Sir C. G. (Pudsey and Otley) Moreing, A. C.
Brocklebank, Sir Edmund Gledhill, G. Morrison, G. A. (Scottish Univ's.)
Brown, Col. D. C. (Hexham) Gluckstein, L. H. Munro, P.
Brown, Rt. Hon. E. (Leith) Glyn, Major Sir R. G. C. Nall, Sir J.
Brown, Brig.-Gen. H. C. (Newbury) Gower, Sir R. V. Neven-Spence, Major B. H. H.
Browne, A. C. (Belfast, W.) Grant-Ferris, R. Nicholson, G. (Farnham)
Butcher, H. W. Greene, W. P. C. (Worcester) O'Connor, Sir Terence J.
Campbell, Sir E. T. Gridley, Sir A. B. O'Neill, Rt. Hon. Sir Hugh
Carver, Major W. H. Crimston, R. V. Orr-Ewing, I. L.
Cary, R. A. Guest, Hon. I. (Brecon and Radnor) Palmer, G. E. H.
Castlereagh, Viscount Gunston, Capt. D. W. Perkins, W. F. D
Cayzer, Sir H. F. (Portsmouth, S.) Hambro, A. V. Peters, Dr. S. J.
Cazalet, Capt. V. A. (Chippenham) Hannah, I. C. Petherick, M.
Channon, H. Hannon, Sir P. J. H. Pickthorn, K. W. M.
Chapman, A. (Rutherglen) Harbord, A. Plugge, Capt. L. F.
Christie, J. A. Harvey, T. E. (Eng. Univ's.) Porritt, R. W.
Clarke, Lt.-Cot. R. S. (E. Grinstead) Heilgers, Captain F. F. A. Procter, Major H. A.
Clarry, Sir Reginald Hely-Hutchinson, M. R. Radford, E. A.
Cobb, Captain E. C. (Preston) Heneage, Lieut.-Colonel A. P. Raikes, H. V. A. M.
Colfox, Major W. P. Herbert, A. P. (Oxford U.) Ramsbotham, H.
Colville, Lt.-Col. Rt. Hon. D. J. Herbert, Major J. A. (Monmouth) Rankin, Sir R.
Conant, Captain F. J. E. Higgs, W. F. Radioane, J. R. (Bodmin)
Cook, Sir T. R. A. M. (Norfolk, N.) Hills, Major Rt. Hon. J. W. (Ripon) Reed, A. C. (Exeter)
Cooke, J. D. (Hammersmith, S.) Holmes, J. S. Reid, W. Allan (Derby)
Cooper, Rt. He. T. M. (E'nburgh, W.) Hope, Captain Hon. A. O. J. Rickards, G. W. (Skipton)
Cox, H. B. Trevor Hopkinson, A. Ropner, Colonel L.
Cranborne, Viscount Horsbrugh, Florence Ross, Major Sir R. D. (Londonderry)
Craven-Ellis, W. Hudson, Capt. A. U. M. (Hack., N.) Ross Taylor, W. (Woodbridge)
Croft, Brig.-Gen. Sir H. Page Hudson. R. S. (Southport) Rowlands, G.
Crooke, J. S. Hutchinson, G. C. Royds, Admiral P. M. R.
Crookshank, Capt. H. F. C. Jones, Sir G. W. H. (S'k N'w'gt'n) Ruggles-Brise, Colonel Sir E. A.
Croom-Johnson, R. P. Keeling, E. H. Russell, Sir Alexander
Cross, R. H. Kerr, H. W. (Oldham) Russell, S. H. M. (Darwen)
Crossley, A. C. Kimball, L. Samuel, M. F. A.
Crowder, J. F. E. Lamb, Sir J. Q. Scott, Lord William
Cruddas, Col. B. Leech, Dr. J. W. Shaw, Major P. S. (Wavertree)
Davies, C. (Montgomery) Lees-Jones, J. Shaw, Captain W. T. (Forfar)
De Chair, S. S. Levy, T. Shepperson, Sir E. W.
De la Bère, R. Lewis, O. Smith, Sir R. W. (Aberdeen)
Denman, Hon. R. D. Llewellin, Lieut.-Col. J. J. Smithers, Sir W.
Dodd, J. S. Lloyd, G. W. Somervell. Sir D. B. (Crewe)
Somerville, A. A. (Windsor) Tufnell, Lieut.-Commander R. L. Williams, H. G. (Croydon, S.)
Spears, Brigadier-General E. L. Torten, R. H. Willoughby de Eresby, Lord
Spens. W. P. Wakefield, W. W. Wilson, Lt.-Col. Sir A. T. (Hitchin)
Stanley, Rt. Hon. Oliver (W'm'l'd) Ward, Lieut.-Col. Sir A. L. (Hull) Windsor-Clive, Lieut.-Colonel G.
Stourton, Major Hon. J. J. Ward, Irene M. B. (Wallsend) Winterton, Rt. Hon. Earl
Stuart, Hon. J. (Moray and Nairn) Warrender, Sir V. Wise, A. R.
Sueter, Rear-Admiral Sir M F. Waterhouse, Captain C. Wood, Hon. C. I. C.
Tasker, Sir R. I. Watt, Major G. S. Harvie Wright, Wing-Commander J. A. C.
Taylor, Vice-Adm. E. A. (Padd., S.) Wedderburn, H. J. S. Young, A. S. L. (Partick)
Thomson, Sir J. D W. Wells, S. R.
Titohfield, Marquess of Whiteley, Major J. P. (Buckingham) TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—
Tree, A. R. L. F. Wickham, Lt.-Col. E. T. R. Lieut.-Colonel Kerr and Major
Sir James Edmondson.
Acland, R. T. D, (Barnstaple) Griffiths. G. A. (Hemsworth) Owen, Major G.
Adams, D. (Consett) Guest, Dr. L. H. (Islington, N.) Paling, W.
Alexander, Rt. Hon. A. V. (H'Isbr.) Hall, J. H. (Whitechapel) Parker, J.
Ammon, C. G. Harris, Sir P. A. Pethick-Lawrence, Rt. Hon. F. W.
Anderson, F. (Whitehaven) Hayday, A. Quibell, D. J. K.
Attlee, Rt. Hon. C. R. Henderson, A. (Kingswinford) Richards, R. (Wrexham)
Banfield, J. W. Henderson, J. (Ardwick) Ridley, G.
Barnes, A. J. Henderson, T. (Tradeston) Ritson, J.
Bellenger, F. J. Hills, A. (Pontefract) Roberts, W. (Cumberland, N.)
Benson, G. Hopkin, D. Salter, Dr. A. (Bermondsey)
Broad, F. A. Johnston, Rt. Hon. T. Seely, Sir H. M.
Bromfield, W. Jones, A. C. (Shipley) Sexton, T. M.
Burke, W. A. Kelly, W. T. Shinwell, E.
Chater, D. Kennedy, Rt. Hon. T. Short, A.
Cluse, W. S. Kirby, B. V. Silverman, S. S.
Cripps, Hon. Sir Stafford Leach, W. Smith, E. (Stoke)
Dalton, H. Lee, F. Smith, Rt. Hon. H. B. Lees- (K'ly)
Davidson, J. J. (Maryhill) Leonard, W. Smith, T. (Normanton)
Dobbie, W. Logan, D. G. Stewart, W. J. (H'ght'n.le-Sp'ng)
Dunn, E. (Rather Valley) Lunn, W. Taylor, R. J, (Morpeth)
Ede, J. C. McEntee, V. La T. Thurtle, E.
Edwards, Sir C. (Bedwellty) McGhee, H. G. Tinker, J. J.
Evans, D. O. (Cardigan) Maclean, N. Viant, S. P.
Fletcher, Lt.-Comdr. R. T. H. MacNeill, Weir, L. Watkins, F. C.
Foot, D. M. Marshall, F. Watson, W. McL.
Gallacher, W. Mathers, G. Welsh, J. C.
Gardner, B. W. Messer, F. Westwood, J.
George, Megan Lloyd (Anglesey) Milner, Major J. White, H. Graham
Gibson, R. (Greenock) Montague, F. Williams, T. (Don Valley)
Green, W. H. (Deptford) Morrison, Rt. Hon. H. (Hackney, S.) Woods, G. S. (Finsbury)
Greenwood, Rt. Hon. A. Muff, G. Young, Sir R. (Newton)
Grenfell, D. R. Noel-Baker, P. J.
Griffith, F. Kingsley (M'ddl'sbro, W.) Oliver, G. H. TELLERS FOR THE NOES.—
Mr. Whiteley and Mr. Adamson.

Question, "That the Bill be now read a Second time," put, and agreed to.