HC Deb 28 June 1937 vol 325 cc1646-7
Mr. Attlee

Can the Prime Minister say what business it is proposed to take in the event of the Eleven o'Clock Rule being suspended?

The Prime Minister (Mr. Chamberlain)

After the Committee stage of the Exchange Equalisation Account [Money] Resolution, we shall take the four Government of India and Government of Burma Act Orders, the third, fourth and fifth Orders on the Paper, and the Committee stage of the Nigeria [Remission of Payments] Resolution. We do not intend to take the Trade Marks (Amendment) Bill. The Suspension of the Eleven o'Clock Rule is purely a matter of precaution.

Mr. Attlee

I take it that it is not intended to take any of the other Orders very late at night if the Debate on the first Order should go late?

The Prime Minister

No, Sir.

Motion made, and Question put, That the Proceedings on Government Business be exempted, at this day's Sitting, from the provisions of the Standing Order (Sittings of the House)."—[The Prime Minister.]

The House divided: Ayes, 185; Noes, 89.

Division No. 240.] AYES. [3.37 p.m.
Acland, Rt. Hon. Sir F. Dyke Croft, Brig.-Gen. Sir H. Page Harris, Sir P. A.
Acland-Troyte, Lt.-Cpl. G. J. Crookshank, Capt. H. F. C. Harvey, T. E. (Eng. Univ's.)
Adams, S. V. T. (Leeds, W.) Cross, R. H. Haslam, Henry (Horncastle)
Albery, Sir Irving Davies, Major Sir G. F. (Yeovil) Haslam, Sir J. (Bolton)
Allen, Lt.-Col. J. Sandeman (B'kn'hd) Davison, Sir W. H. Heilgers, Captain F. F. A.
Assheton, R. Denman, Hon. R. D. Heneage, Lieut.-Colonel A. P.
Balfour, Capt. H. H. (Isle of Thanet) Donner, P. W. Herbert, A. P. (Oxford U.)
Balniel, Lord Dower, Major A. V. G. Herbert, Major J. A. (Monmouth)
Barclay-Harvey, Sir C. M. Drewe, C. Hills, Major Rt. Hon. J. W. (Ripon)
Baxter, A. Beverley Duckworth, Arthur (Shrewsbury) Hoare, Rt. Hon. Sir S.
Beamish, Rear-Admiral T. P. H. Dugdale, Captain T. L. Holdsworth, H.
Beauchamp, Sir B. C. Duggan, H. J. Hope, Captain Hon. A. O. J.
Beaumont, Hon. R. E. B. (Portsm'h) Duncan, J. A. L. Hore-Belisha, Rt. Hon. L.
Bennett, Sir E. N. Dunglass, Lord Horsbrugh, Florence
Bernays, R. H. Ellis, Sir G. Howitt, Dr. A. B
Blair, Sir R. Elliston, Capt. G. S. Hudson, Capt. A. U. M. (Hack., N.)
Blaker, Sir R. Emmott, C. E. G. C Hulbert, N. J.
Boothby, R. J. G. Emrys-Evans, P. V. Hunter, T.
Boulton, W. W. Evans, Capt. A. (Cardiff, S.) Hurd, Sir P. A.
Bower, Comdr. R. T. Evans, D. O. (Cardigan) James, Wing-Commander A. W. H.
Brass, Sir W. Furness, S. N. Jarvis, Sir J. J.
Bull, B. B. Fyfe, D. P. M. Keeling, E. H.
Butcher, H. W. Ganzoni, Sir J. Kerr, Colonel C. I. (Montrose)
Carver, Major W. H. Gilmour, Lt.-Col. Rt. Hon. Sir J. Kerr, H. W. (Oldham)
Cary, R. A. Gluckstein, L. H. Kerr, J. Graham (Scottish Univs.)
Cayzer, Sir C. W. (City of Chester) Glyn, Major Sir R. G. C. Keyes, Admiral of the Fleet Sir R.
Cayzer, Sir H. R. (Portsmouth, S.) Goldie, N. B. Lamb, Sir J. Q.
Cazalet, Thelma (Islington, E.) Goodman, Col. A. W. Lambert, Rt. Hon. G.
Chamberlain, Rt. Hn. N (Edgb't'n) Grant-Ferris, R. Leckie, J. A.
Channon, H. Granville, E. L. Leighton, Major B. E. P.
Chapman, Sir S. (Edinburgh, S.) Gridley, Sir A. B. Lennox-Boyd, A. T. L.
Clarke, Lt.-Col. R. S. (E. Grinstead) Grigg, Sir E. W. M. Lindsay, K. M.
Colville, Lt.-Col. Rt. Hon. D. J. Grimston, R. V. Lipson, D. L.
Conant, Captain R. J. E. Guinness, T. L. E. B. Little, Sir E. Graham-
Cook, Sir T. R. A. M. (Norfolk, N.) Guy, J. C. M. Llewellin, Lieut.-Col. J. J.
Cooke, J. D. (Hammersmith, S.) Hannah, I. C. Lloyd, G. W.
Cox, H. B. T. Hannon, Sir P. J. H. Loftus, P. C.
Lovat-Fraser, J. A. Pickthorn, K. W. M. Stanley, Rt. Hon. Lord (Fylde)
Mabane, W. (Huddersfield) Pilkington, R. Stanley, Rt. Hon. Oliver (W'm'l'd)
Macdonald, Capt. P. (Isle of Wight) Ponsonby, Col. C. E. Storey, S.
Macmillan, H. (Stockton-on-Tees) Ramsbotham, H. Strauss, E. A. (Southwark, N.)
Macnamara, Capt. J. B. J. Rankin, Sir R. Tasker, Sir R. I.
Macquisten, F. A. Rathbone, Eleanor (English Univ's.) Taylor, Vice-Adm. E. A. (Padd., S.)
Makins, Brig.-Gen. E. Reid, Sir D. D. (Down) Thomas, J. P. L.
Manningham-Buller, Sir M. Reid, J. S. C. (Hillhead) Touche, G. C.
Margesson, Capt. Rt. Hon. H. D. R. Remer, J. R. Tryon, Major Rt. Hon. G. C.
Maxwell, Hon. S. A. Robinson, J. R. (Blackpool) Tufnell, Lieut.-Commander R. L.
Mayhew, Lt.-Col. J. Russell, Sir Alexander Wakefield, W. W.
Mellor, Sir J. S. P. (Tamworth) Russell, R. J. (Eddisbury) Wallace, Capt. Rt. Hon. Euan
Mitchell, H. (Brentford and Chiswick) Russell, S. H. M. (Darwen) Warrender, Sir V.
Mitchell, Sir W. Lane (Streatham) Salmon, Sir I. Watt, G. S. H.
Moore, Lieut.-Col. Sir T. C. R. Salt, E. W. Whiteley, Major J. P. (Buckingham)
Morgan, R. H. Salter, Sir J. Arthur (Oxford U.) Wilson, Lt.-Col. Sir A. T. (Hitchin)
Morrison, G. A. (Scottish Univ's.) Samuel, M. R. A. Windsor-Clive, Lieut.-Colonel G.
Morrison, Rt. Hon. W. S. (Cirencester) Sassoon, Rt. Hon. Sir P. Winterton, Rt. Hon. Earl
Munro, P. Savery, Sir Servington Withers, Sir J. J.
Neven-Spence, Major B. H. H. Selley, H. R. Womersley, Sir W. J.
Nicolson, Hon. H. G. Shaw, Major P. S. (Wavertree) Wood, Hon. C. I. C.
O'Neill, Rt. Hon. Sir Hugh Simon, Rt. Hon. Sir J. A. Wright, Squadron-Leader J. A. C.
Ormsby-Gore, Rt. Hon. W. G. A. Sinclair, Col. T. (Queen's U. B'lf'st)
Palmer, G. E. H. Smith, Sir R. W. (Aberdeen) TELLERS FOR THE AYES.
Patrick, C. M. Somerville, A. A. (Windsor) Mr. James Stuart and Lieut.-Colonel
Peters, Dr. S. J. Southby, Commander A. R. J. Sir A. Lambert Ward.
Adams, D. (Consett) Griffiths, J. (Llanelly) Naylor, T. E.
Adams, D. M. (Poplar, S.) Hall, J. H. (Whitechapel) Noel-Baker, P. J.
Adamson, W. M. Henderson, A. (Kingswinford) Paling, W.
Anderson, F. (Whitehaven) Henderson, J. (Ardwick) Pethick-Lawrence, Rt. Hon. F. W.
Attlee, Rt. Hon. C. R. Henderson, T. (Tradeston) Ridley, G.
Banfield, J. W. Hopkin, D. Ritson, J.
Barnes, A. J. Jagger, J. Rowson, G.
Barr, J. Jenkins, Sir W. (Neath) Sanders, W. S.
Batey, J. Jones, A. C. (Shipley) Sexton, T. M.
Bellenger, F. J. Jones, J. J. (Silvertown) Simpson, F. B.
Benn, Rt. Hon. W. W. Jones, Morgan (Caerphilly) Smith, Ben (Rotherhithe)
Brown, C. (Mansfield) Kelly, W. T. Smith, E. (Stoke)
Burke, W. A. Kennedy, Rt. Hon. T. Smith, Rt. Hon. H. B. Lees- (K'ly)
Charleton, H. C. Kirby, B. V. Smith, T. (Normanton)
Cocks, F. S. Lansbury, Rt. Hon. G. Stewart, W. J. (H'ght'n-le-Sp'ng)
Cove, W. G. Lawson, J. J. Strauss, G. R. (Lambeth, N.)
Daggar, G. Leach, W. Taylor, R. J. (Morpeth)
Dalton, H. Lee, F. Thorne, W.
Davies, R. J. (Westhoughton) Leslie, J. R. Thurtle, E.
Day, H. Logan, D. G. Tinker, J. J.
Dobbie, W. Macdonald, G. (Ince) Viant, S. P.
Dunn, E. (Rother Valley) McEntee, V. La T. Walker, J.
Ede, J. C. McGhee, H. G. Watkins, F. C.
Edwards, Sir C. (Bedwellty) MacLaren, A. Wedgwood, Rt. Hon. J. C.
Fletcher, Lt.-Comdr. R. T. H. Marshall, F. Whiteley, W. (Blaydon)
Gallacher, W. Messer, F. Williams, T. (Don Valley)
Gardner, B. W. Milner, Major J. Windsor, W. (Hull, C.)
Garro Jones, G. M. Montague, F.
Gibson, R. (Greenock) Morrison, R. C. (Tottenham, N.) TELLERS FOR THE NOES.
Green, W. H. (Deptford) Muff, G. Mr. Groves and Mr. Mathers.
Griffiths, G. A. (Hemsworth) Nathan, Colonel H. L.