HC Deb 14 May 1934 vol 289 c1450

asked the Postmaster-General whether he can now state the terms of reference and personnel of the committee to consider the development of television?


The terms of reference of the Television Committee are as follow : To consider the development of Television and to advise the Postmaster-General on the relative merits of the several systems and on the conditions under which any public service of Television should be provided. The committee will be constituted as follows :

Lord Selsdon, Chairman, and

Sir John Cadman, Vice-Chairman.

The remaining members are :

Colonel A. S. Angwin, Assistant Engineer-in-Chief, General Post Office.

Mr. Noel Ashbridge, Chief Engineer, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Mr. O. F. Brown, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.

Vice-Admiral Sir Charles Carpendale, Controller, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Mr. F. W. Phillips, Assistant Secretary, General Post Office.

The Secretary of the committee will be :

Mr. J. Varley Roberts, of the General Post Office.

Forward to