HC Deb 15 March 1934 vol 287 cc719-21

Motion made, and Question proposed, That a number of Land Forces, not exceeding 149,500, all ranks, be maintained for the Service of the United Kingdom at home and abroad, excluding His Majesty's Indian Possessions (other than Aden), during the year ending on the 31st day of March, 1935.

10.55 p.m.


I do not want to detain the Committee at this late hour, but my friends and I have each year taken the opportunity of the Service Estimates of giving a vote in favour of our point of view—namely, total disarmament. This evening with other important business to be taken I will not go into the reasons for our attitude. We have made them clear on many previous occasions, and they have been amply reinforced by the various discussions which have taken place on the various Estimates which have been presented, because the general

lessons which we have learned from the speeches of experts on these matters is that it is hopeless for a nation to defend itself against attack. If that is proved by the experts then it is rather a waste of public money to make preparations for defence, which in the eyes of those who seem to know are quite hopeless. Without delaying the Committee in any way I merely want to intimate that my friends and I propose to divide against this Vote.

10.57 p.m.


May I also say that we are going to vote as we have expressed ourselves during the Debate, against this Vote, but not for the same reasons as the hon. Member for Bridgeton (Mr. Maxton), but because the Vote involves an increase in numbers.

Question put.

The Committee divided: Ayes, 171; Noes, 30.

Division No. 167.] AYES. [10.58 p.m.
Acland, Rt. Hon. Sir Francis Dyke Elmley, Viscount Macdonald, Sir Murdoch (Inverness)
Acland-Troyte, Lieut.-Colonel Erskine-Bolst, Capt. C. C. (Blackpool) McKie, John Hamilton
Agnew, Lieut.-Com. P. G. Essenhigh, Reginald Clare Macmillan, Maurice Harold
Albery, Irving James Fleming, Edward Lascelies Makins, Brigadier-General Ernest
Allen, Lt.-Col. J. Sandeman (B'k'nhd.) Foot, Dingle (Dundee) Manningham-Butter, Lt.-Col. Sir M.
Anstruther-Gray, W. J. Ford, Sir Patrick J. Margesson, Capt. Rt. Hon. H. D. R.
Applin, Lieut.-Col. Reginald V. K. Fox, Sir Gilford Marsden, Commander Arthur
Aske, Sir Robert William Fremantle, Sir Francis Mason, Col. Glyn K. (Croydon, N.)
Bailey, Eric Alfred George Fuller, Captain A. G. Mayhew, Lieut.-Colonel John
Baillie, Sir Adrian W. M. Gilmour, Lt.-Col. Rt. Hon. Sir John Mills, Sir Frederick (Leyton, E.)
Baldwin, Rt. Hon. Stanley Gluckstein, Louis Halle Mills, Major J. D. (New Forest)
Bateman, A. L. Glyn, Major Sir Ralph G. C. Mitcheson, G. G.
Beaumont, Hon. R. E. B. (Portsm'th, C.) Golf, Sir Park Monsell, Rt. Hon. Sir B. Eyres
Bernays, Robert Goodman, Colonel Albert W. Moreing, Adrian C.
Bilndell, James Graves, Marjorle Moss, Captain H. J.
Borodale, Viscount Grenfell, E. C. (City of London) Muirhead, Lieut.-Colonel A. J.
Bracken, Brendan Gretton, Colonel Rt. Hon. John Munro, Patrick
Braithwaite, J. G. (Hillsborough) Griffith, F. Kingsley (Middiesbro', W.) Nation, Brigadier-General J. J. H.
Brass, Captain Sir William Guest, Capt. Rt. Hon. F. E. Normand, Rt. Hon. Wilfrid
Broadbent, Colonel John Guinness, Thomas L. E. B. O'Neill, Rt. Hon. Sir Hugh
Brockiebank, C. E. R. Hanbury, Cecil Palmer, Francis Noel
Brown, Ernest (Leith) Hanley, Dennis A. Peake, Captain Osbert
Burgin, Dr. Edward Leslie Harvey, George (Lambeth, Kenningt'n) Pearson, William G.
Campbell, Sir Edward Taswell (Brmly) Harvey, Major S. E. (Devon, Totnes) Peat, Charles U.
Campbell, Vice-Admiral G. (Burnley) Headlam, Lieut.-Col. Cuthbert M. Penny, Sir George
Campbell-Johnston, Malcolm Hills, Major Rt. Hon. John Waller Powell, Lieut.-Col. Evelyn G. H.
Caporn, Arthur Cecil Hope, Capt. Hon. A. O. J. (Aston) Pybus, Sir Percy John
Chapman, Col. R. (Houghton-le-Spring) Hore-Belisha, Leslie Bedford, E. A.
Colman, N. C. D. Howitt, Dr. Alfred B. Ralkes, Henry V. A. M.
Conant, R. J. E. Hudson, Capt. A. U. M. (Hackney, N.) Ramsay, Capt. A. H. M. (Midlothian)
Cook, Thomas A. Hunter, Dr. Joseph (Dumfries) Ramsay T. B. W. (Western Isles)
Cooper, A. Duff Hunter-Weston, Lt.-Gen. Sir Aylmer Ramsbotham, Herwald
Copeland, Ida James, Wing-Corn. A. W. H. Rea, Walter Russell
Courthope, Colonel Sir George L. Ker, J. Campbell Remer, John R.
Craddock, Sir Reginald Henry Kerr, Hamilton W. Renwick, Major Gustav A.
Croft, Brigadier-General Sir H. Law, Sir Alfred Ropner, Colonel L.
Crookshank, Col. C. de Windt (Bootle) Leighton, Major B. E. P. Ross Taylor, Walter (Woodbridge)
Crookshank, Capt. H. C. (Gainsb'ro) Lindsay, Noel Ker Runge, Norah Cecil
Crossley, A. C. Llewellin, Major John J. Russell, Albert (Kirkcaldy)
Cruddas, Lieut-Colonel Bernard Loder, Captain J. de Vere Russell, Alexander West (Tynemouth)
Davies, Maj. Geo. F. (Somerset, Yeovil) Loftus, Pierce C. Sandeman, Sir A. N. Stewart
Dickie, John P. Lumley, Captain Lawrence R. Selley, Harry R.
Duncan, James A. L. (Kensington, N.) MacAndrew, Lieut.-Col. C. G. (Partick) Shaw, Helen B. (Lanark, Bothwell)
Eden, Robert Anthony McCorquodale, M. S. Shaw, Captain William T. (Forfar)
Ellis, Sir R. Geoffrey MacDonald, Rt. Hon. J. R. (Seaham) Smiles, Lieut.-Col. Sir Walter D.
Elliston, Captain George Sampson MacDonald, Malcolm (Bassetlaw) Somervell, Sir Donald
Somerville, Annesley A. (Windsor) Sutcliffe, Harold Wells, Sydney Richard
Soper, Richard Tate, Mavis Constance Weymouth, Viscount
Speare, Brigadier-General Edward L. Thomson, Sir Frederick Charles Whiteside, Borras Noel H.
Spencer, Captain Richard A. Thorp, Linton Theodore Williams, Charles (Devon, Torquay)
Spens, William Patrick Titchfield, Major the Marquess of Williams, Herbert G. (Croydon, S.)
Stanley, Rt. Hon. Lord (Fylde) Touche, Gordon Cosmo Wilson, Lt.-Col. Sir Arnold (Hertf'd)
Stevenson, James Tufnell, Lieut.-Commander R. L. Wilson, Clyde T. (West Toxteth)
Stewart, J. H. (Fife, E.) Turton, Robert Hugh Wise, Alfred R.
Stourton, Hon. John J. Wallace, Captain D. E. (Hornsey) Womersley, Walter James
Strauss, Edward A. Ward, Lt.-Col. Sir A. L. (Hull)
Stuart, Hon. J. (Moray and Nairn) Wardlaw-Milne, Sir John S. TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—
Sugden, Sir Wilfrid Hart Warrender, Sir Victor A. G. Captain Sir George Bowyer and Dr. Morris-Jones.
Adams, D. M. (Poplar, South) Greenwood, Rt. Hon. Arthur Milner, Major James
Attlee, Clement Richard Grundy, Thomas W. Paling, Wilfred
Batey Joseph Hall, George H. (Merthyr Tydvil) Parkinson, John Allen
Brown, C. W. E. (Notts., Mansfield) Jones, Morgan (Caerphilly) Salter, Dr. Alfred
Buchanan, George Kirkwood, David Smith, Tom (Normanton)
Cove, William G. Lawson, John James Tinker, John Joseph
Cripps, Sir Stafford Logan, David Gilbert Williams, Edward John (Ogmore)
Daggar, George Lunn, William Wilmot, John
Davies, David L. (Pontypridd) McEntee, Valentine L.
Dobbie, William McGovern, John TELLERS FOR THE NOES.—
Edwards, Charles Maxton, James Mr. D. Graham and Mr. Groves.

Question put, and agreed to.