HC Deb 07 March 1934 vol 286 cc1816-7

May I ask the Lord President of the Council how far it is proposed to go with business to-night?

The LORD PRESIDENT of the COUNCIL (Mr. Baldwin)

We hope to obtain the first five Orders on the Order Paper. We also hope to get the Report stage of three Money Resolutions which passed through the Committee stage last night.

Motion made, and Question put, That the Proceedings on Government business be exempted, at this day's Sitting, from the provisions of the Standing Order (Sittings of the House)."—[Mr. Baldwin.]

The House divided: Ayes, 205; and Noes, 48.

Lovat-Fraser, James Alexander Peake, Captain Osbert Somerville, Annesley A. (Windsor)
Lumley, Captain Lawrence R. Pearson, William G. Sotheron-Estcourt, Captain T. E.
MacAndrew, Lieut.-Col. C. G. (Partick) Peat, Charles U. Southby, Commander Archibald R. J.
MacAndrew, Capt. J. O. (Ayr) Peters, Dr. Sidney John Spencer, Captain Richard A.
McCorquodale, M. S. Peto, Sir Basil E. (Devon, Barnstaple) Spender-Clay, Rt. Hon. Herbert H.
MacDonald, Malcolm (Bassetlaw) Pownall, Sir Assheton Spens, William Patrick
McEwen, Captain J. H. F. Radford, E. A. Stanley, Rt. Hon. Lord (Fylde)
McKeag, William Raikes, Henry V. A. M. Stanley, Hon. O. F. G. (Westmorland)
Macpherson, Rt. Hon. Sir Ian Ramsay, T. B. W. (Western Isles) Stones, James
Magnay, Thomas Ramsbotham, Herwald Strickland, Captain W. F.
Maitland, Adam Rankin, Robert Sueter, Rear-Admiral Sir Murray F.
Makins, Brigadier-General Ernest Reid, William Allan (Derby) Sugden, Sir Wilfrid Hart
Manningham-Buller, Lt.-Col. Sir M. Rickards, George William Tate, Mavis Constance
Margesson, Capt. Rt. Hon. H. D. R. Robinson, John Roland Taylor, Vice-Admiral E. A. (P'dd'gt'n, S.)
Martin, Thomas B. Rosbotham, Sir Thomas Touche, Gordon Cosmo
Mills, Sir Frederick (Leyton, E.) Ross Taylor, Walter (Woodbridge) Tree, Ronald
Mills, Major J. D. (New Forest) Runciman, Rt. Hon. Walter Tufnell, Lieut.-Commander R. L.
Mitchell, Sir W. Lane (Streatham) Russell, R. J. (Eddisbury) Wallace, Captain D. E. (Hornsey)
Molson, A. Hugh Elsdale Rutherford, John (Edmonton) Ward, Lt.-Col. Sir A. L. (Hull)
Monsell, Rt. Hon. Sir B. Eyres Rutherford, Sir John Hugo (Liverp'l) Wardlaw-Milne, Sir John S.
Morris-Jones, Dr. J. H. (Denbigh) Salmon, Sir Isidore Whiteside, Borras Noel H.
Morrison, William Shephard Samuel, Sir Arthur Michael (F'nham) Wills, Wilfrid D.
Moss, Captain H. J. Sandeman, Sir A. N. Stewart Wilson, Lt.-Col. Sir Arnold (Hertf'd)
Muirhead, Lieut.-Colonel A. J. Scone, Lord Wilson, Clyde T. (West Toxteth)
Nation, Brigadier-General J. J. H. Shakespeare, Geoffrey H. Windsor-Clive, Lieut.-Colonel George
Nicholson, Godfrey (Morpeth) Shaw, Helen B. (Lanark, Bothwell) Winterton, Rt. Hon. Earl
Nicholson, Rt. Hn. W. G. (Petersf'ld) Shepperson, Sir Ernest W. Wise, Alfred R.
Nunn, William Simon, Rt. Hon. Sir John Womersley, Walter James
Oman, Sir Charles William C. Skelton, Archibald Noel Worthington, Dr. John V.
Ormsby-Gore, Rt. Hon. William G. A. Smith, Louis W. (Sheffield, Hallam)
Palmer, Francis Noel Smith, R. W. (Ab'rd'n & Kinc'dine, C.) TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—
Patrick, Colin M. Somerset, Thomas Sir Frederick Thomson and Sir
Victor Warrender.
Acland, Rt. Hon. Sir Francis Dyke Hicks, Ernest George Paling, Wilfred
Attlee, Clement Richard Holdsworth, Herbert Parkinson, John Allen
Banfield, John William Janner, Barnett Price, Gabriel
Batey, Joseph Jenkins, Sir William Rea, Walter Russell
Buchanan, George Johnstone, Harcourt (S. Shields) Roberts, Aled (Wrexham)
Cape, Thomas Jones, Morgan (Caerphilly) Samuel, Rt. Hon. Sir H. (Darwen)
Cripps, Sir Stafford Kirkwood, David Smith, Tom (Normanton)
Daggar, George Lawson, John James Tinker, John Joseph
Davies, David L. (Pontypridd) Leonard, William Wedgwood, Rt. Hon. Josiah
Davies, Rhys John (Westhoughton) Logan, David Gilbert White, Henry Graham
Dobbie, William Lunn, William Williams, David (Swansea, East)
Edwards, Charles Macdonald, Gordon (Ince) Williams, Edward John (Ogmore)
Evans, R. T. (Carmarthen) Maclean, Nell (Glasgow, Govan) Williams, Dr. John H. (Llanelly)
Foot, Isaac (Cornwall, Bodmin) Mainwaring, William Henry Wilmot, John
Grenfell, David Rees (Glamorgan) Mander, Geoffrey le M.
Hall, George H. (Merthyr Tydvil) Mason, David M. (Edinburgh, E.) TELLERS FOR THE NOES.—
Hamilton, Sir R. W. (Orkney & Zetl'nd) Maxton, James Mr. John and Mr. D. Graham.