HC Deb 26 June 1933 vol 279 cc1171-3

In the event of the Motion for the suspension of the Eleven o'clock Rule being carried, may I ask the

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury how far it is proposed to go to-night.


The suspension of the Eleven O'Clock Rule is being moved in order to obtain the first three Orders on the Paper.


With regard to the third Order—Supply, Report—we do not intend to contest it, but there are a lot of Amendments to the second Order, Local Government and other Officers' Superannuation (Temporary Provisions) Bill, and, in the event of it not being reached before Eleven o'clock does the Parliamentary Secretary propose to go on with it?


No, Sir. I hope that reasonable progress will be made with the first Order and that we shall dispose of it in ample time to allow the second Order to be disposed of without keeping the House unduly late. If I am over-optimistic, the House can be sure that it is not the intention of the Government to ask the House to sit late to-night.

Motion, made, and Question put, That the Proceedings on Government Business be exempted, at this day's Sitting, from the provisions of the Standing Order (Sittings of the House)"—[Captain Mar-gesson.]

The House divided: Ayes, 174; Noes, 27.

Division No. 240.] AYES. [3.15 p.m.
Acland-Troyte, Lieut.-Colonel Cayzer, Sir Charles (Chester, City) Goff, Sir Park
Adams, Samuel Vyvyan T. (Leeds, W.) Cayzer, Maj. Sir H. R. (Prtsmth., S.) Goodman, Colonel Albert W.
Agnew, Lleut.-Com. P. G. Clarke, Frank Grattan-Doyle, Sir Nicholas
Allan, Sir J. Sandeman (L'pool, W.) Cochrane, Commander Hon. A. O. Gretton, Colonel Rt. Hon. John
Amery, Rt. Hon. Leopold C. M. 8. Collins, Rt. Hon. Sir Godfrey Griffith, F. Kingsley (Middlesbro',W.)
Anstmther-Gray, W. J. Cooke, Douglas Grigg, Sir Edward
Aske, Sir Robert William Copeland, Ida Grlmston, R. V.
Astbury, Lleut.-Com. Frederick Wolfe Craddock, Sir Reginald Henry Hacking, Rt. Hon. Douglas H.
Balfour, Capt. Harold (I. of Thanet) Cranborne, Viscount Hales, Harold K.
Balnlel, Lord Crooke, J. Smedley Hamilton, Sir R. W.(Orkney & Zetl'nd)
Barclay-Harvey, C. M. Crookshank, Capt. H. C. (Galnsb'ro) Hanley, Dennis A.
Bonn, Sir Arthur Shirley Dovles, Maj. Geo.F.(Somerset, Yeovil) Harris, Sir Percy
Bernays, Robert Denman, Hon. R. D. Headlam, Lieut -Col. Cuthbert M.
Blindeil, James Donner, P. W. Hellgers, Captain F. F. A.
Borodale, Viscount Doran, Edward Heneage, Lieut.-Colonel Arthur P.
Boulton, W. W. Drewe, Cedric Hills, Major Rt. Hon. John Waller
Bowyer, Capt. Sir George E. W. Dunglass, Lord Hore-Belisha, Leslie
Boyce, H. Leslie Elmley, viscount Horsbrugh, Florence
Broadbent, Colonel John Emmott, Charles E. G. C. Howitt, Dr. Alfred B.
Brocklebank, C. E. R. Erskine, Lord (Weston-super-Mare) Hudson, Capt. A. u. M. (Hackney,N.)
Brown, Ernest (Leith) Evans, Capt. Arthur (Cardiff, S.) Hurd, Sir Percy
Brown, Brig.-Gen.H.C.(Berks., Newb'y) Faile Sir Bertram G. Hutchison, W. D. (Essex, Roml'd)
Buchan-Hepburn, P. G. T. Fleming, Edward Lascelles James, Wing-Com. A. W. H
Burnett, John George Foot, Dingle (Dundee) Johnstone, Harcourt (S. Shields)
Burton, Colonel Henry Walter Fox, Sir Gifford Kerr, J. Campbell
Butler, Richard Austen Fraser, Captain Ian Kerr, Hamilton W.
Campbell, Sir Edward Taswell (Brmly) Fremantle, Sir Francis Knight, Holford
Campbell-Johnston, Malcolm Fuller, Captain A. G. Knox, Sir Alfred
Caporn, Arthur Cecil Gamzoni, Sir John Lambert. Rt. Hon. George
Carver, Major William H. Gillett, Sir George Masterman Law, Richard K. (Hull, S.W.)
Castlereagh, Viscount Gilmour, Lt.-Col. Rt. Hon. Sir John Lelghton, Major B. E. P.
Cautley, Sir Henry S- Glucksteln, Louis Halle Levy, Thomas
Lewis, Oswald Munro, Patrick Spender-Clay, Rt. Hon. Herbert H.
Llewellin, Major John J. Nation, Brigadier-General J. J. H. Stanley, Hon. O. F. G. (Westmorland)
Llewellyn-Jones. Frederick Nunn, William Stourton, Hon. John J.
Locker-Lampion, Rt. Hn. G. (Wd. G'n) Patrick, Colin M. Strauss, Edward A.
Loder, Captain J. de Vere Peake, Captain Osbert Stuart, Lord C. Crichton.
Lumley, Captain Lawrence R. Pethtrlck, M. Sugden, Sir Wilfrid Hart
Lyons, Abraham Montagu Pickford, Hon. Mary Ada Tate Mavis Constanee
MacAndrew, Lieut.-Col. C. G.(Parfick) Procter, Major Henry Adam Tryon, Rt. Hon. George Clement
MacAndrew, Capt. J. O. (Ayr) Ralkes, Henry V. A. M. Wallace, Captain D. E. (Hornsey)
Mac Donald, Malcolm (Baseetlaw) Ramsay, Capt. A. H. M. (Midlothian) Ward, Lt.-Col. Sir A. L. (Hull)
Macdonald, Capt. P. D. (1. of W.) Ramsbotham, Herwald Ward, Sarah Adelaide (Cannock)
McEwen, Captain J. H. F Rankin, Robert Warrender, Sir Victor A. G.
McKie, John Hamilton Rathbone, Eleanor Watt, Captain George Steven H.
Maclay, Hon. Joseph Paton Rea, Waiter Russell Weymouth, Viscount
McLean, Dr. W. H. (Tradeston) Reed, Arthur C. (Exeter) Whyte, Jardine Bell
Maltland, Adam Remer, John R. Williams, Chariot (Devon, Torquay)
Makins Brigadier-General Ernest Ron, Ronald D. Williams, Herbert G. (Croydon, S.)
Margesson, Capt. Rt. Hon. H. D. R. Ross Taylor, Walter (Woodbridge) Wills, Wilfrid D.
Marsden, Commander Arthur Runge, Norah Cecil Wilson, Lt.-Col. Sir Arnold (Hertfd)
Mayhew, Lieut.-Colonel John Russell, Alexander West (Tynemouth) Windsor-Cllve, Lieut.-Colonel George
Merrlman, Sir F. Boyd Salmon, Sir Isidore Womersley, Walter James
Mills, Sir Frederick (Leyton, E.) Samuel, Sir Arthur Michael (F'nham) Wood, Rt. Hon. Sir H. Kingsley
Mitchell, Harold p.(Br'trd & Chlsw'k) Samuel, Rt. Hon. Sir H. (Darwen) Wood, Sir Murdoch McKenzie (Banff)
Mitchell, Sir W. Lane (Streatham) Shakespeare, Geoffrey H. Worthlngton, Dr. John V.
Molson, A. Hugh Elsdale Smith, R. W. (Ab'rd'n & Klnc'dlne, C.)
Monsell, Rt. Hon. Sir B. Eyres Somervills, Annesley A. (Windsor) TELLERS FOR THE AYES.
Moreing, Adrian C. Southby, Commander Archibald R.J. Sir Frederick Thornton and Sir George Penny.
Attlee, Clement Richard Grenfell, David Rees (Glamorgan) Maxton, James
Banfield, John William Groves, Thomas E. Milner, Major James
Batey, Joseph Grundy, Thomas W. Parkinson, John Allen
Buchanan, George Hirst, George Henry Smith, Tom (Normanton)
Cocks, Frederick Seymour Jones, Morgan (Caerphilly) Wellhead, Richard C.
Cove, William G. Lanebury, Rt. Hon. Geerge Williams, Dr. John H. (Lianelly)
Cripps, Sir Stafford Lawson, John James Williams, Thomas (York, Don Valley)
Dagger, George Logan, David Gilbert
Davies, Rhys John (Westhoughton) Lunn, William TELLERS FOR THE NOES
Edwards, Charles McGovern, John Mr. C. Macdonald and Mr. Tinker.