HC Deb 09 February 1931 vol 248 cc18-9
26. Mr. DAY

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs what is the position with reference to the ratification of the Arms Traffic Convention for the control of traffic in arms which was signed at Geneva on the 17th June, 1925?


As the answer is rather long, I will, with my hon. Friend's permission, circulate it in the OFFICIAL REPORT.


Can my right hon. Friend say how many countries have not yet signed?


I think my hon. Friend had better wait and see all the information that I have given him.

Following is the answer:

The following countries have ratified the Convention for the Suppression of the International Trade in Arms and Ammunition and in Implements of War, of 17th June, 1925; Great Britain and Northern Ireland and all parts of the British Empire which are not separate members of the League of Nations, China, Denmark, Egypt, France, Liberia, the Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden and Venezuela. In addition, His Majesty's Government in the Commonwealth of Australia have recently acceded to the Convention.

The ratifications of China, Egypt, Liberia, the Netherlands, Spain and Venezuela are unconditional. Those of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Denmark, France and Sweden, together with the accession of the Commonwealth of Australia, are subject to the reservation that they shall not take effect until ratification of the Convention by certain other Powers. The ratification of Poland is subject to a reservation suspending the application to her of Articles 6 and 9 of the Convention.