HC Deb 27 February 1930 vol 235 cc2403-4
61. Dr. DAVIES

asked the President of the Board of Education the names of the members of the committee who are advising him with regard to maintenance grants for school children at 14 years of age; and when he expects their Report?


With the hon. Member's permission, I will circulate the names in the OFFICIAL REPORT. In regard to the latter part of the question, I am not yet able to add anything to the answer which I gave the hon. Member a fortnight ago.

Following are the names:

Mr. E. G. Howarth, C.B.E. (Chairman).

Representatives of the Association of Education Committees:—Rev. Canon Little, Sir Percy R. Jackson, J.P., LL.D., Mr. Spurley Hey, Mr. Percival Sharp.

Representatives of the Association of Municipal Corporations:—Mr. F. Askew, J.P., Mr. R. H. Hume, Dr. James Graham, Mr. T. Boyce.

Representatives of the County Councils Association:—Major A. Leycester-Penrhyn, Mr. W. N. Smith, J.P., Mr. W. A. Brockington, C.B.E.

Representatives of the Federation of Education Committees (Wales and Monmouthshire):—Mr. William Jenkins, J.P., M.P., Professor Joseph Jones, Mr. Rhys Elias.

Representatives of the London County Council:—Sir John W. Gilbert, K.B.E., Mr. Cecil A. G. Manning, J.P., Mr. Angus N. Scott, F.C.A.