HC Deb 11 February 1930 vol 235 cc214-5
44. Mr. MANDER

asked the President of the Board of Trade if he will give the names of the members of the statutory committee in connection with the Cinematograph Films Act; and whether they represent British or American film interests in each case?


With the hon. Member's permission, I will circulate the names of the Committee in the OFFICIAL REPORT. The trade members are selected as persons representative, respectively, of film makers, renters and exhibitors in this country.


Can the right hon. Gentleman say whether the majority representation on that Committee is British or American?


I should think it is British, but, of course, the Committee has to operate within the Act of 1927, the object of which was to increase the quota of films produced is this country.


Do I understand that the majority representation is of British industry, of British firms?


Without notice I could not possibly indicate the exact trade interests. If the hon. Member would put the question on the Paper or let me have it otherwise, I would gladly give him the information.

Following are the members of the Committee:

Sir Laurance N. Guillemard, G.C.M.G., K.C.B. (Chairman).

Mr. H. Bruce Woolfe and Mr. John Maxwell, representing film makers.

Mr. S. Rowson and Mr. F. W. Baker, representing film renters.

Mr. E. Hewitson, Mr. H. Victor Davis, Mr. F. H. Cooper and Mr. E. Trounson, representing film exhibitors.

Mrs. Philip Snowden, Sir Robert Blair, Mr. St. John Ervine and Mr. G. R. Hall Caine, C.B.E., persons having no pecuniary interest in the film industry.