HC Deb 05 March 1928 vol 214 cc812-3

In view of the Motion which the Prime Minister has on the Order Paper, to suspend the Eleven o'Clock Rule to-night, may I ask him what business he proposes to take in the event of that Motion being carried?


It is to enable us, if possible, to finish the adjourned Debate on the Reorganisation of Offices (Scotland) Bill and to take the Committee stage of the Financial Resolution attached to it.

Motion made, and Question put, That the Proceedings on Government Business be exempted, at this day's Sitting, from the provisions of the Standing Order (Sittings of the House)."—[The Prime Minister.]

The House divided: Ayes, 144; Noes, 48.

Division No. 22.] AYES. [3.21 p.m.
Agg-Gardner, Rt. Hon. Sir James T. Grant, Sir J. A. Newman, Sir R. H. S. D. L. (Exeter)
Albery, Irving James Grattan-Doyle, Sir N. Oakley, T.
Alexander, E. E. (Leyton) Grotrian, H. Brent Ormsby-Gore, Rt. Hon. William
Amery, Rt. Hon. Leopold C. M. S. Gunston, Captain D. W. Penny, Frederick George
Applin, Colonel R. V. K. Hacking, Douglas H. Percy, Lord Eustace (Hastings)
Ashley, Lt.-Col. Rt. Hon. Wilfrid W. Hall, Lieut.-Col. Sir F. (Dulwich) Perkins, Colonel E. K.
Atkinson, C. Hall, Capt. W. D'A. (Brecon & Rad.) Peto, Sir Basil E. (Devon, Barnstaple)
Baldwin, Rt. Hon. Stanley Hamilton, Sir George Peto, G. (Somerset, Frome)
Balniel, Lord Hammersley, S. S. Power, Sir John Cecil
Barclay-Harvey, C. M. Hannon, Patrick Joseph Henry Ramsden, E.
Beckett, Sir Gervase (Leeds, N.) Harmsworth, Hon. E. C. (Kent) Remnant, Sir James
Beilairs, Commander Carlyon W. Harrison, G. J. C. Rhys, Hon. C. A. U.
Benn, Sir A. S. (Plymouth, Drake) Hartington, Marquess of Rice, Sir Frederick
Berry, Sir George Headlam, Lieut.-Colonel C. M. Richardson, Sir P. W. (Sur'y, Ch'ts'y)
Betterton, Henry B. Henderson, Sir Vivlan (Bootle) Roberts, Sir Samuel (Hereford)
Bourne, Captain Robert Croft. Henn, Sir Sydney H. Salmon, Major I.
Bowyer, Captain G. E. W. Hills, Major John Waller Samuel, A. M. (Surrey, Farnham)
Bridgeman, Rt. Hon William Clive Hogg, Rt Hon. Sir D. (St.Marylebone) Sandeman, N. Stewart
Brittain, Sir Harry Holt, Captain H. P. Savery, S. S.
Brocklebank, C. E. R. Hope, Capt. A. O. J. (Warw'k, Nun.) Smithers, Waldron
Brooke, Brigadier-General C. R. I. Hopkins, J. W. W. Spender-Clay, Colonel H.
Burton, Colonel H. W. Hopkinson, Sir A. (Eng, Universities) Sprot, Sir Alexander
Campbell, E. T. Hopkinson, A. (Lancaster, Mossley) Stanley, Lieut.-Colonel Rt. Hon. G. F.
Cazalet, Captain Victor A. Howard-Bury, Colonel C. K. Stanley, Lord (Fylde)
Cecll, Rt. Hon. Sir Eveiyn (Aston) Hudson, Capt. A. U. M.(Hackney, N.) Storry-Deans, R.
Chamberlain, Rt. Hon. N. (Ladywood) Hudson, R. S. (Cumberl'nd, Whiteh'n) Stuart, Crichton-, Lord C.
Clarry, Reqinald George Hurd, Percy A. Sueter, Rear-Admiral Murray Fraser
Cobb, Sir Cyril Jackson, Sir H. (Wandswortn, Cen'l) Templeton, W. P.
Cooper, A. Duff James, Lieut.-Colonel Hon. Cuthbert Thomson, Rt. Hon. Sir W. Mitchell-
Cope, Major William King, Commodore Henry Douglas Tinne, J. A.
Couper, J. B. Kinloch-Cooke, Sir Clement Titchfield, Major the Marquess of
Courthope, Colonel Sir G. L. Knox, Sir Alfred Turton, Sir Edmund Russborough
Croft, Brigadier-General Sir H. Lister, Cunliffe-, Rt. Hon. Sir Philip Vaughan-Morgan, Col. K. P.
Crookshank, Cpt.H.(Lindsey,Gainsbro) Locker-Lampson, G. (Wood Green) Ward, Lt.-Col. A. L.(Kingston-on-Hull)
Curzon, Captain Viscount Locker-Lampson, Com. O. (Handsw'th) Warrender, Sir Victor
Davies, Dr. Vernon Loder, J. de V. Watson, Rt. Hon. W. (Carlisle)
Davison, Sir W. H. (Kensington, S.) Long, Major Eric White, Lieut.-Col. Sir G. Dalrymple-
Erskine, Lord (Somerset, Weston-s-M.) Luce, Maj.-Gen. Sir Richard Harman Williams, Herbert G. (Reading)
Erskine, James Malcolm Montelth MacAndrew, Major Charles Glen Wilson, Sir Murrough (Yorks,Richm'd)
Everard, W. Lindsay McDonnell, Colonel Hon. Angus Windsor-Clive, Lieut.-Colonel George
Falie, Sir Bertram G. McLean, Major A. Winterton, Rt. Hon. Earl
Fanshawe, Captain G. D. Macmillan, Captain H. Wood, E. (Chest'r, Stalyb'dge & Hyde)
Forrest, W. MacRobert, Alexander M. Wood, Rt. Hon. Sir Kingsley
Fraser, Captain Ian Marriott, Sir J. A. R. Wood, Sir S. Hill- (High Peak)
Fremantle, Lieut.-Colonel Francis E. Mline, J. S. Wardlaw. Woodcock, Colonel H. C.
Ganzoni, Sir John Mitchell, Sir W. Lane (Streatham) Worthington-Evans, Rt. Hon. Sir L.
Gates, Percy Moore, Lieut.-Colonel T. C. R. (Ayr)
Gilmour, Lt.-Col. Rt. Hon. Sir John Morrison, H. (Wilts, Salisbury) TELLERS FOR THE AYES.
Goff, Sir Park Nelson, Sir Frank Major Sir George Hennessy and
Mr. F. C. Thomson.
Adamson, Rt. Hon. W. (Fife, West) Hutchison, Sir Robert (Montrose) Saklatvala, Shapurji
Ammon, Charles George Kelly, W. T. Shepherd, Arthur Lewis
Baker, Walter Kirkwood, D. Smith, H. B. Lees- (Keighley)
Barr, J Lansbury, George Smith, Rennie (Penistone)
Bowerman, Rt. Hon. Charles W. Lawrence, Susan Snell, Harry
Bromley, J. Livingstone, A. M. Thomas, Rt. Hon. James H. (Derby)
Buxton, Rt. Hon. Noel Lowth, T. Thorne, W. (West Ham, Plaistow)
Cove, W. G. Lunn, William Tinker, John Joseph
Davies, Ellis (Denbigh, Denbigh) MacDonald, Rt. Hon. J. R. (Aberavon) Trevelyan, Rt. Hon. C. P.
Davies, Evan (Ebbw Vale) Mackinder, W. Wallhead, Richard C.
Day, Harry MacNeill-Weir, L. Wedgwood, Rt. Hon. Joslah
Gosling, Harry Maxton, James Wellock, Wilfred
Greenwood, A. (Nelson and Colne) Montague, Frederick Westwood, J.
Grenfell, D. R. (Glamorgan) Naylor, T. E. Wright, W.
Griffiths, T. (Monmouth, Pontypool) Owen, Major G.
Grundy, T. W. Potts, John S. TELLERS FOR THE NOES.
Hirst, G. H. Rose, Frank H. Mr. T. Kennedy and Mr. A. Barnes.