HC Deb 17 April 1928 vol 216 cc17-8

(for Mr. BUCHANAN) asked the Secretary of State for Scotland the number of towns in Scotland of a population of 10,000 and over which have no voluntary clinics for dealing with the problem of venereal disease; if he can give the names of these towns; and if he is at present taking any steps to urge those local authorities to set up clinics?

The SECRETARY of STATE for SCOTLAND (Sir John Gilmour)

As the answer is a long one I propose, with the hon. Member's consent, to circulate it in the OFFICIAL REPORT.

Following is the answer:

The number of towns in Scotland with a census population of 10,000 or over, and without a public clinic for dealing with venereal diseases, is 26, of which seven have a population of 20,000 or over.

These burghs, in order of population, are:

Clydebank. Cowdenbeath.
Falkirk. Renfrew.
Airdrie. Saltcoats.
Rutherglen. Peterhead.
Dumbarton. Galashiels.
Port Glasgow. Johnstone.
Inverness. Alloa.
Musselburgh. Kirkintilloch.
Hawick. Barrhead.
Buckhaven. Montrose.
Methil and Innerleven. Lochgelly
Rothesay. Bo'ness.
Dunoon. Gourock.

In three of these burghs—Falkirk, Inverness and Rutherglen—provision of a venereal disease clinic is in course of being made, or under active consideration. Four of these burghs—Airdrie, Port Glasgow, Musselburgh and Gourock—are so conveniently situated for the clinics of adjacent larger towns as not to require independent provision. The remaining nineteen burghs are served to a greater or a less extent by the nearest available clinics of other towns. In eleven of these burghs the Scottish Board of Health have not thought the question of providing a local clinic to be sufficiently urgent to call for pressure by them upon the Local Authorities having regard to the facilities available in neighbouring towns. In the case of the remaining eight burghs—Clydebank, Dumbarton, Hawick and Galashiels, Peterhead and Fraserburgh, Saltcoats and Kirkintilloch, the question of establishing a burgh clinic or a joint clinic has been considered by the responsible Local Authority, and remains open. The development of the schemes in all areas is being carefully watched and reviewed by the Board.