HC Deb 03 April 1928 vol 215 cc1770-1

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland the number and names of the county areas which are not operating Section 2 of the Blind Persons Act, 1920; and what steps are being taken to urge them to operate this Section?


Three county councils in Scotland, namely, Banff, Nairn and Wigtown have not had schemes approved under Section 2 (1) of the Blind Persons Act, 1920. A scheme has, however, been submitted by Banff County Council and is at present under the consideration of the Scottish Board of Health who are also taking steps through their inspector of the blind to secure the early submission of schemes by the other two councils named.