HC Deb 22 November 1927 vol 210 cc1583-5
26. Mr. WESTW00D

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland how many authorities have exercised their powers under Section 2 of The Blind Persons Act, 1920; and, if any, the names of such authorities?

The SECRETARY of STATE for SCOTLAND (Sir John Gilmour)

Of the 66 county and town councils that are authorities in Scotland for the purposes of the Blind Persons Act, 1920, 62 have in operation schemes approved under Section 2 (1) of the Act. I propose, with the hon. Member's permission, to circulate a list of the names of these 62 authorities


Is the hon. Gentleman aware that in the case of the administrative staff of the War Office the number has approximately doubled and that in the case of the Admiralty the number has nearly trebled, and has he given up all attempts to reduce expenditure in that direction?


That question does not arise here.

Following are the figures:

in the OFFICIAL REPORT. Under Section 2 (6) of the Act, as applied to Scotland by Section 4 (1) (b), all the 37 education authorities make or secure provision for the technical education of blind persons resident in their areas, as suitable cases arise, and so far as accommodation is available.


Is the right hon. Gentleman satisfied that reasonable provision for training is made by these authorities, and that reasonable allowances are made to the blind persons who come under the schemes referred to?


I should say that considerable progress has been made in dealing with this subject.

Following is the list

County Councils: Town Councils:
Aberdeen. Aberdeen.
Argyll. Ayr.
Ayr. Kilmarnock.
Berwick. Rothesay.
Bute. Alloa.
Caithness. Dumbarton.
Clackmannan. Dumfries.
Dumbarton. Edinburgh.
Dumfries. Elgin.
Fife. Dunfermline.
Forfar. Kirkcaldy.
Haddington. Arbroath.
Inverness. Brechin.
Kincardine. Dundee.
Kinross. Forfar.
Kirkcudbright. Montrose.
Lanark Inverness.
Linlithgow. Airdrie.
Midlothian. Coatbridge.
Moray. Glasgow.
Peebles. Hamilton.
Perth. Motherwell
Renfrew. and Wishaw.
Ross and Perth.
Cromarty. Greenock.
Roxburgh. Johnstone.
Selkirk. Paisley.
Stirling. Port Glasgow.
Sutherland. Renfrew.
Orkney. Hawick.
Zetland. Galashiels.