HC Deb 17 March 1927 vol 203 cc2314-5

"That a Supplementary sum, not exceeding £950,000, be granted to His Majesty, to defray the, Charge which will come in course of payment during the year ending on the 31st day of March, 1927, for Expenditure arising out of the despatch of. Troops to China."

Resolution read a Second time.

Motion made, and Question put, "That this House doth agree with the Committee in the said Resolution."

The House divided: Ayes, 161: Noes, 70.

Division No. 49.] AYES. [9.26 p.m.
Agg-Gardner, Rt. Hon. Sir Jamas T. Crawfurd, H. E. Grant, Sir J. A.
Albery, Irving James Croft, Brigadier-General Sir H. Grotrian, H. Brent
Alexander, Sir Wm. (Glasgow, Cent'l) Crooke, J. Smedley (Deritend) Gunston, Captain D. W.
Allen, J. Sandeman (L'pool.W. Derby) Crookshank, Col. C. de W. (Berwick) Hacking, Captain Douglas H.
Atkinson, C. Crookshank,Cpt. H.(Lindsey,Gainsbro) Hall, Lieut.-Col. Sir F. (Dulwich)
Barclay-Harvey, C. M. Dalkeith, Earl of Hall, Vice-Admiral Sir R. (Eastbourne)
Barnett, Major Sir Richard Davidson, Major-General Sir J. H. Harland, A.
Barnston, Major Sir Harry Davies, Maj. Geo. F. (Somerset, Yeovil) Harvey, G. (Lambeth, Kennington)
Blundell, F. N. Davies, Sir Thomas (Cirencester) Hawke, John Anthony
Bourne, Captain Robert Croft Edmondson, Major A. J. Henderson, Capt. R.R. (Oxf'd,Henley)
Bowyer, Capt. G. E. W. Elliot, Major Walter E. Henderson, Lieut.-Col. V. L. (Bootle)
Brass, Captain W. England, Colonel A. Heneage, Lieut.-Colonel Arthur P.
Brooke, Brigadier-General C. R. I. Erskine, Lord (Somerset,Weston-s.-M.) Hennessy, Major Sir G. R. J.
Broun-Lindsay, Major H. Evans, Capt. Ernest (Welsh Univer.) Herbert, Dennis (Hertford, Watford)
Brown, Brig.-Gen. H.C (Berks,Newb'y) Everard, W. Lindsay Hills, Major John Waller
Bullock, Captain M. Fairfax, Captain J. G. Hilton, Cecil
Barman, J. B. Falle, Sir Bertram G. Holland, Sir Arthur
Burton, Colonel H. W. Fenby, T. D. Holt, Capt. H. P.
Butler, Sir Geoffrey Fielden, E. B. Hopkins, J. W. W.
Campbell, E. T. Forestier-Walker, Sir L. Howard-Bury, Lieut.-Colonel C. K.
Carver, Major W. H. Foster, Sir Harry S. Hudson, Capt. A. U. M. (Hackney, N.)
Chamberlain, Rt. Hon. N. (Ladywood) Fraser, Captain Ian Hudson, R. S. (Cumb'l'nd. Whiteh'n)
Charteris, Brigadier-General J. Fremantle, Lt.-Cot. Francis E. Hunter-Weston, Lt.-Gen. Sir Aylmer
Clayton, G. C. Ganzoni, Sir John Jackson, Sir H. (Wandsworth, Cen'I)
Cobb, Sir Cyril Garro-Jones, Captain G. M. Jacob, A. E.
Cockerill, Brig.-General Sir G. K. Gates, Percy James, Lieut.-Colonel Hon Cuthbert
Conway, Sir W. Martin Gibbs, Col. Rt. Hon. George Abraham Jephcott, A. R.
Cope, Major William Goff, Sir Park King, Captain Henry Douglas
Cowan, D. M. (Scottish Universities) Graham, Fergus (Cumberland, N.) Kinloch-Cooke, Sir Clement
Lamb, J. Q. Percy, Lord Eustace (Hastings) Streatfeild, Captain S. R.
Lloyd, Cyril E. (Dudley) Perkins, Colonel E. K. Styles, Captain H. Walter
Looker, Herbert William Peto, G. (Somerset, Frome) Sugden, Sir Wilfrid
Lougher, L. Price, Major C. W. M. Tasker, R. Inigo.
Lucas-Tooth, Sir Hugh Vere Raine, W. Thorn, Lt.-Col. J. G. (Dumbarton)
Luce, Major-Gen.Sir Richard Harman Ramsden, E. Ward, Lt.-Col. A. L.(Kingston-on-Hull)
MacAndrew Major Charles Glen Reid, D. D. (County Down) Warner, Brigadier-General W. W.
McLean, Major A. Remer, J. R. Warrender, Sir Victor
Macmillan, Captain H. Rice, Sir Frederick Waterhouse, Captain Charles
Maitland, Sir Arthur D. Steel- Richardson, Sir P. W. (Sur'y, Ch'ts'y) Watts, Dr. T.
McNeill, Rt. Hon. Ronald John Roberts, E. H. G. (Flint) Wells, S. R.
Margesson, Captain D. Ruggies-Brise, Major E. A. White, Lieut.-Col. Sir G. Dairymple-
Milne, J. S. Wardlaw Russell, Alexander West (Tynemouth) Williams, A. M. (Cornwall, Northern)
Monsell, Eyres, Com. Rt. Hon. B. M. Salmon, Major I. Williams, Com. C. (Devon, Torquay)
Moore-Brabazon, Lieut.-Col. J. T. C Samuel, Samuel (W'dsworth, Putney) Wilson, R. R. (Stafford, Lichfield)
Morris, R. H. Sandeman, A. Stewart Windsor-Clive, Lieut.-Colonel George
Nelson, Sir Frank Sandon, Lord Wise, Sir Fredric
Newman, Sir R. H. S. D. L. (Exeter) Savory, S. S. Withers, John James
Nield, Rt. Hon. Sir Herbert Shaw, R G. (Yorks, W.R., Sowerby) Womersley, W. J.
Nuttall, Ellis Sheffield, Sir Berkeley Wood, Sir S. Hill- (High Peak)
O'Connor, T. J. (Bedford, Luton) Simms, Dr. John M. (Co. Down) Wragg, Herbert
Oman, Sir Charles William C. Skelton, A. N. Young, Rt. Hon. Hilton (Norwich)
Ormsby-Gore, Rt. Hon. William Smith-Carington, Neville W.
Owen, Major G. Smithers, Waldron TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—
Pennefather, Sir John Somerville, A. A. (Windsor) Mr. F. C. Thomson and Captain Lord Stanley.
Penny, Frederick George Stanley,Col. Hon. G. F.(Will'sden, E.)
Adamson, Rt. Hon. W. (File, West) Henderson, Rt. Hon. A. (Burnley) Shiels, Dr. Drummond
Adamson, W. M. (Staff., Cannock) Hudson, J. H. (Huddersfield) Sitch, Charles H.
Alexander, A. V. (Sheffield, Hillsbro') Johnston, Thomas (Dundee) Smith, Ben (Bermondsey, Rotherhithe)
Ammon, Charles George Jones, T. I. Mardy (Pontypridd) Snell, Harry
Baker, J. (Wolverhampton, Bllston) Kelly, W. T. Snowden, Rt. Hon. Philip
Barnes, A. Kennedy, T. Stamford, T. W.
Bare, J. Lawson, John James Stephen, Campbell
Batey, Joseph Lee, F. Sullivan, J.
Bromley, J. Lindley, F. W. Sutton, J. E.
Buchanan, G. Lowth, T. Tinker, John Joseph
Buxton, Rt. Hon. Noel March, S. Trevelyan, Rt. Hon. C. P.
Charleton, H. C. Maxton, James Varley, Frank B.
Cluse, W. S. Montague, Frederick Watson, W. M. (Dunfermline)
Cove, W. G. Mosley, Oswald Webb, Rt. Hon. Sidney
Davies, Rhys John (Westhoughton) Palin, John Henry Wellock, Wilfred
Day, Colonel Harry Paling, W. Welsh, J. C.
Dennison, R. Ponsonby, Arthur Williams, T. (York, Don Valley)
Gillett, George M. Potts, John S. Wilson, R. J. (Jarrow)
Gosling, Harry Richardson, R. (Houghton-le Spring) Wright, W.
Graham, D. M. (Lanark, Hamilton) Riley, Ben Young, Robert (Lancaster, Newton)
Graham, Rt. Hon. Wm. (Edin., Cent.) Robinson, W. C. (Yorks, W.R., Elland)
Greenwood, A. (Nelson and Colne) Salter, Dr. Alfred TELLERS FOR THE NOES.—
Griffiths, T. (Monmouth, Pontypool) Scrymgeour, E. Mr. Allen Parkinson and Mr. Whiteley.
Groves, T. Scurr, John
Hartshorn, Rt. Hon. Vernon Shepherd, Arthur Lewis

Resolutions agreed to.

The remaining Orders were read and postponed.

Adjourned accordingly at Twenty-five minutes before Ten o'Clock.