HC Deb 23 June 1927 vol 207 cc2024-5

asked the President of the Board of Education the number and names of local education authorities in Great Britain where there are classes in the primary schools with over 60 scholars in the class; and what action is being taken to reduce the number of scholars in the classes of primary schools to a number approximating the maximum permitted in a class in a secondary school?

Duchess of ATHOLL

I am circulating in the OFFICIAL REPORT the names of the local authorities in England and Wales in whose areas there were, on the 31st March, 1927, any classes containing more than 60 pupils on the register. For similar particulars relating to Scotland I would refer the hon. Member to my right hon. Friend the Secretary of State for Scotland. As regards the second part of the question, I would refer him to my right hon. Friend's statement in the House on this subject on 24th March last.

Following are the local authorities:

Berkshire. Worcestershire.
Buckinghamshire. Yorks, East Riding.
Cornwall. Yorks, North Riding.
Derbyshire. Yorks, West Riding.
Durham. London.
Essex. Boston.
Gloucestershire. Cambridge.
Hampshire. Chatham.
Huntingdonshire. Chesterfield.
Kent. Congleton.
Lancashire. Darwen.
Leicestershire. Doncaster.
Lines.—Parts of Lindsey. Eccles.
Northumberland. Hornsey.
Nottinghamshire. Ilford.
Somersetshire. Ilkeston.
Suffolk, East. Keighley.
Surrey. Kendal.
Warwickshire. Lewes.
Leyton. Bournemouth.
Lowestoft. Bradford.
Luton. Bristol.
Maidenhead. Burnley.
Mansfield. Carlisle.
Newcastle-under-Lyme. Chester.
Poole. Dewsbury.
Ramsgate. Eastbourne.
Rawtenstall. East Ham.
Rochester. Exeter.
Stockton-on-Tees. Gateshead.
Torquay. Gloucester.
Widnes. Kingston-upon-Hull.
Wimbledon. Leeds.
Yeovil. Leicester.
Beckenham. Liverpool.
Cannock. Oldham.
Hebburn. Portsmouth.
Heston and Isle worth. Preston.
Radcliffe. Rochdale.
Rowley Regis. St Helens.
Tottenham. Salford.
Waterloo-with-Sea forth. Sheffield.
Wolstanton United. Southend-on-Sea.
Birkenhead. Southport.
Birmingham. Wakefield.
Blackburn. Walsall.
Blackpool. West Ham.
Bootle. West Hartlepool.
Carmarthenshire. Neath.
Denbighshire. Port Talbot.
Flintshire. Ebbw Vale.
Glamorganshire. Pontypridd.
Monmouthshire. Rhondda.
Carmarthen. Swansea.
Forward to